Athletics News

Quick links

The Road to the Hall: Kate Murray

Jan. 4, 2011

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Considered one of the best women's basketball players to ever play at LMU, Kate Murray ('04) will become the fourth LMU women's basketball player to enter the LMU Hall of Fame, joining current assistant coach Lynn Flanagan, who was elected in 2001, Sherri Brown, who was elected in 2003, and Bryn Britton, who was elected in 2009. Murray led the Lions to the 2003-04 WCC Championship and a school-record 24 victories that season.

Murray enters the prestigious group ranked second all time in points with 1,566. Murray was named first team All-WCC twice in her career, once in 2002 and again in 2004. Her senior season proved to be a big year, as she also garnered LMU's Female Athlete of the Year, WCC Player of the Year, and LMU and WCC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In that same season, Murray established a single-season record for free throw percentage with a mark of .883, besting her own previous record of .857. In addition to holding the first and second spots in the single-season books for free throw percentage, she also places second in points (492), fifth in scoring average (16.40), seventh in three pointers (48), and eighth in free throw throws (106). Furthermore, she owns the fifth (169) and 10th (160) spots in field goals made. Murray pervades the Top-10 list in a number of career categories as well, ranking second in field goals (580), second in free throw percentage (.813), fifth in assists (329), sixth in scoring average (12.70), sixth in steals (198), sixth in blocks (57), seventh in three pointers (106), and 10th in rebounds (480).

Murray will join Edit Pakay (women's tennis/cross country, 2003), Arturo Torres (men's soccer, 2002), Kevin Witt (men's water polo, 2003), the 1950 Loyola football team, and the 1989 women's rowing four that won a national championship as the newest members of the LMU Hall of Fame. The four individuals bring the number of members in the Hall of Fame, which was started in 1986, to 108. The two teams will be the fifth and sixth inducted into the Hall of Fame, as they join the 1969 football team, the 1981 women's rowing team, the 1990 men's basketball team, and the 1986 baseball team.

The Hall of Fame inductees will be introduced during halftime at the LMU men's basketball game against Santa Clara on Saturday, January 29, 2011. For game tickets, please contact Scott Higdon at 310-258-2680.

For more information or to purchase tickets to the Hall of Fame event, please contact June D'Amour at 310-338-1743 or The invitation and RSVP card can also be downloaded using the following links:

2011 Hall of Fame Invitation Get Acrobat Reader

2011 Hall of Fame RSVP Card Get Acrobat Reader


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago