Athletics News

Quick links

The Road to the Hall: Ryan Eisberg

Jan. 20, 2009


When he is elected into the LMU Hall of Fame on February 6, 2009, Ryan Eisberg will become the first water polo player selected to the Hall of Fame.  The first AWPCA All-American to come out of the Lion program, Eisberg garnered Honorable Mention All-American recognition in 1996 and was named LMU Student-Athlete of the Year in 1998.  LMU’s all-time leading scorer with 304 career points, and an All-WWPA honoree in each year of play, Eisberg also ranks fifth in assists (83) and 13th with 100 games played.

A three-time team captain and Most Valuable Offensive Player, he holds three of the top-10 individual season point totals, including amassing 95 points in a breakout season as a freshman in 1994.  That total places him second all-time in the record books, while his 83 points in 1995 ranks fourth.  His freshman scoring mark placed him in the top-two in the nation amongst his freshmen counterparts that season.  Eisberg completed a stellar four-year career with another top-10 scoring season, totaling 80 points as a senior in 1997.  In that season, he was the sole team-leader in scoring in 17 of the 26 games played, finishing the year with 52 more goals than his next closest teammate.

Eisberg was invited to tryout for the U.S. National Team in 1996 and 1997, training with the squad in 1997.  After completing his career at LMU, he went on to play professional water polo in Sydney, Australia for the Sydney Magpies.  A U.S. Masters All-American in 2002, 2003 and 2004, he currently serves as the president for the LMU Water Polo Alumni Association.

Eisberg will join Bryn Britton (Women’s Basketball, 2002), Bill Crone (Football, 1970), Sarah Noriega (Women’s Volleyball, 1998), Reid Priddy (Men’s Volleyball, 2000) and Bernie Sandalow (LMU Public Address Announcer, 1978) as one of six new members of the LMU Hall of Fame when they are inducted on February 6.

For more information or to purchase tickets to the event, contact the Office of Special Events at (310) 338-5278 or  The invitation and RSVP card can also be downloaded using the following links:

2009 Hall of Fame Invitation

2009 Hall of Fame RSVP Card


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago