Athletics News

Quick links

LMU Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2003

Feb. 11, 2003

Los Angeles, CA (Feb. 11) - The Loyola Marymount University athletic department announced today that four individuals and one team will be inducted as the Class of 2003 in the LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame in a ceremony to be held on Saturday, March 29, 2003.

This year's class, the first since 2001, includes Sherri Brown (Women's Basketball, 1994), Kerry House (Women's Volleyball, 1991), Kristi Anderson (Women's Tennis, 1989), Art Jones (LMU Supporter, 1950) and the 1969 Club Football National Championship Team. The four individuals bring the number of members in the Hall of Fame to 89. The football team becomes just the second group to be inducted to the Hall, joining the 1981 women's crew team.

Brown becomes just the second women's basketball player selected to the Hall of Fame, joining current assistant coach Lynn Flanagan, who was elected in 2001. Brown was the second player in program history to be named first-team All-West Coast Conference in back-to-back seasons (1993 and 1994). She currently holds nine game top-10 records, five top-10 career records and six top-10 season records. She holds the all-time record for rebounds per game in a season with 10.31 in 1993, rebounds in a career with 8.74 per game and career field goal percentage at .518.

As the fifth volleyball player elected to the Hall of Fame, House becomes the first under current Head Coach Steve Stratos, who in 12 seasons has not had a season under .500. House was a two-time All-WCC first-team selection and the first LMU volleyball player to earn volleyball magazine All-American honors. She currently ranks first among LMU's all-time leaders in career dig average (4.89), season dig average (5.36 in 1990), single-season attacks (1,898 in 1990) and digs (740 in 1990). Following her senior campaign, House was also honored as LMU's Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Anderson was voted as LMU Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year of two consecutive seasons, winning the honor in 1988 and 1989. Her 1986 season on the women's tennis team stands as the best winning percentage in program history at .792. In addition, her 74 career wins a doubles player is the best in school history. All told, she is ranked in the top-10 of six career records and three season records.

The 1969 football team will be the second squad added to the hall of fame.

Graduating from Loyola in 1950, Jones has spent a lifetime following his alma mater. Jones was the head student manager of the men's basketball team from 1946-50 and has been a loyal fan since, witnessing more than 900 Lion contests in his life. He has been supporting athletics at LMU from more than 56 years and through this 2003 men's basketball season, he has missed less than 10 home games in those 56 years.

The 1969 Loyola Lions football team won the national club football championship and finished the year ranked number one in the nation. Led by Head Coach Jim Brownfield, the Lions finished the season 8-1 and had four players named to the Club Football All-American Team.

The Class of 2003 will be inducted during the Hall of Fame Dinner, which will start on March 29 at 6:00 p.m. with a no-host cocktail hour. The dinner and presentation with start at 7:00 p.m. in the Roski Dining Room in University Hall on the LMU campus.

For more information or to purchase tickets to the event, contact the Office of Special Events at (310) 338-5278 or down the PDF files:

Hall of Fame Invitation in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Hall of Fame Response Card in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago