Athletics News

Quick links

Hall of Fame Class of 2015: Rewriting the History Books

Hall of Fame Class of 2015
Aug. 29, 2014

LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame | Give to the Lions | LMU on Facebook | LMU on Twitter

LOS ANGELES - Traditions of success and championships are set by teams and individuals breaking through barriers of previously-set markers and rewriting the standards by which a program or a team are measured. The LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame Class of 2015 set such markers.

Loyola Marymount Athletics is proud to announce the inductees for the 2015 LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame, which includes the 1996 LMU Women's Volleyball Team, Jason D'Amore (golf), Dale Marini (benefactor), Laura Mickelson (cross country/track), Billy Traber (baseball) and Scott Walter (baseball).

The Class of 2015 set standards that pushed their respective teams to the top.

Traber and Walter combined to form one of the best three-year batteries in the history of the West Coast Conference, leading the baseball program to three straight conference crowns, the first men's program to do so in school history. Walter would go on to earn second-team All-American honors as a catcher in 2000 and ranks third all-time with 36 home runs. Traber also went on to earn All-America honors and was the WCC Pitcher of the Year in 2000, ranking second all-time with 338 strikeouts.

As for the 1996 volleyball team, they would claim their third straight WCC crown that season, marking the first team in LMU history to win a trio of titles. To top it off, they would advance to the NCAA Sweet 16 in the process. The team roster that season included Suzanne Radcliffe, Heather Brooke (Vinck), Jessica Olivier, Tate Medley, Lydia Kniffin (Day), Tracy Duffey (Holman), Cindy Weglarz, Jeannette Hecker, Krista Del Colliano, Kim Blankinship, Alyssa Carbonetti-Bellevue, Sarah Sulentor (Noriega), Karissa Guthrie (Meith), Nelly Fullard-Leo (Weglarz), Head Coach Steve Stratos, and assistant coaches Larry Smoot and Erika Stevens.

D'Amore led the charge in taking the LMU golf program to not only its first WCC Championship in 2006, but led them all the way to the NCAA Championships. In doing so, he is the only golfer in school history to claim first-team All-WCC honors in each of his four seasons, and just the sixth student-athlete in LMU history to accomplish the feat.

As for Mickelson, she became the first female in LMU history to qualify for the NCAA Outdoor Track Championships, placing 22nd in the 5,000-meter prelims. She went on to earn three straight first-team All-WCC honors in cross country, winning the individual championship in 2006. She went on to place seventh in the NCAA Regionals and 50th at the NCAA Championships that season.

It's fitting that on the 25th Anniversary of the 1989-90 Elite Eight men's basketball team that set the NCAA record with 120.1 points per game, the person responsible for recording all those points is being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Marini, a 1970 graduate of LMU, became the official scorer of LMU basketball in 1966 and he has been doing it since. His stamp isn't just on LMU hoops, but nationally as well, as the scorebook used today was influenced by Marini. With the uptempo style of the Lions' in the late 1980s, he was asked to help rewrite the NCAA scorebook.

This is the 16th class of the LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame, which began in 1996. The Class of 2015 will be officially inducted in ceremonies on the weekend of Feb. 19-22, including a Hall of Fame Banquet and Reception and the traditional halftime ceremony at the men's basketball game against Santa Clara on Saturday, Feb. 21. The game will also include the 25th Anniversary Celebration of the 1989-90 men's basketball Elite Eight team. More information will be released in the coming months.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago