Abbott, Johnson Earn Top Honors at 2017 Iggy Awards

April 25, 2017

Baseball’s Cory Abbott, his perfect game, and women’s basketball newcomer Jackie Johnson highlighted the 2017 Lions Athletic Fund Iggy Awards on Monday, April 24th at the Los Angeles Airport Marriott.

Women’s basketball senior forward Jackie Johnson was named Female Athlete of the Year and baseball junior pitcher Cory Abbott was named Male Athlete of the Year.

Johnson led her team to a 9-9 conference record, their first .500 or better season since 2008-09. Johnson finished the season earning First-Team All-WCC honors as well as the WCC Newcomer of the Year. The senior transfer averaged 17.4 points per game, 9.3 rebounds per game, and 2.9 blocks per game, leading the team in all three categories and finishing in the top-three in the WCC.

Abbott threw the first perfect game in LMU and WCC history, and just the 26th in NCAA history, on March 25 vs. BYU. Abbott retired all 27 batters, striking out 13 as LMU defeated BYU 2-0. Over 10 appearances, the junior has pitched a team high 65.1 innings, leads the team with an 8-1 record and 73 strikeouts, and places top-three in the WCC in all three categories. So far in WCC play, Abbott has recorded a 6-0 record with a 0.21 ERA, allowing just one earned run over 43 innings.

The Athlete of the Year honors were just two of the many Lions Athletic Fund Iggy Awards handed out on Monday. The Iggy's honors highlighted an evening full of recognition and laughs as the evening included the traditional senior farewell videos.

The 2016-17 Iggy Award Winners and Nominees:

Female: Jackie Johnson - Women's Baskeball
Male: Cory Abbott - Baseball

INDIVIDUAL SPORT ATHLETE OF THE YEAR IGGY (nominees for overall Athlete of the Year)
Siobhan Anderson, Tennis
Sarina Bolden, Soccer
Hannah Calton, Swimming
Kristen Castellanos, Indoor Volleyball
Amanda Dirks, Softball
Kim Ehntholt, Rowing
Jackie Johnson, Basketball
Anna Roccucci, Cheer
Caitlin Schafer, Water Polo
•Danielle Shanahan, Cross Country/Track
Sarah Sponcil, Beach Volleyball

Cory Abbott, Baseball
Jon Beck, Water Polo
Brandon Brown, Basketball
• Gabriel Diaz Friere, Tennis
Riley Elmes, Golf
Connor Johnson, Soccer
Samuel Johnston, Rowing
Jack Polerecky, Cross Country/Track

Female: Jackie Johnson - Women's Basketball
Male: Connor Johnson, Soccer

Student-Athlete of the Year Nominees:
Female: Siobhan Anderson, Tennis; Hannah Calton, Swimming; Kristen Castellanos, Indoor Volleyball; Kim Ehntholt, Rowing; Jill Farley, Soccer; Jackie Johnson, Basketball; Lindsey Matoi, Softball; Anna Roccucci, Cheer; Danielle Shanahan, Cross Country/Track; Camila Tumosa, Tennis; Hana Vilanova, Water Polo
Male: Cory Abbott, Baseball; Steven Haney, Men’s Basektball; Connor Johnson, Soccer; Jack Polerecky, Cross Country/Track

Female: Savannah Slattery - Women's Volleyball
Male: Alex Athimaritis - Men's Water Polo

Freshman of the Year Nominees:
Female: Dana Acquah-Asare, Water Polo; Siobhan Anderson, Tennis; Lanna Kozlowski, Swimming; India Krappe, Rowing; Katie Manley, Softball; Kylie Pollack, Cheer; Phoebe Riley, Soccer; Savannah Slattery, Volleyball; Raychel Stanley, Basketball; Hannah Wohlenberg, Cross Country/Track
Male: Garrett Amador, Soccer; Alex Athimaritis, Water Polo; Gabriel Diaz Friere, Tennis; Mason Glinski, Golf; Jacob Heink, Cross Country/Track; Samuel Johnston, Crew; Cooper Uhl, Baseball

Female: Jackie Johnson- Women's Basketball
Male: Connor Johnson - Men's Soccer

Newcomer of the Year Nominees:
Female: Nora Consani, Rowing; Kyla Danforth, Cross Country/Track; Jackie Johnson, Basketball; Irma Sanchez, Softball; Pilar Torres, Soccer; Camila Tumosa, Tennis; Carissa Yee, Cheer
Male: Nick Borchenko, Tennis; Connor Johnson, Soccer

Female: Maddie Medved - Women’s Soccer
Male: Brenton Arriaga - Baseball

Most Improved Athlete of the Year Nominees:
Female: Marisa Carino, Cross Country/Track; Brooke Christensen, Softball; Kiana Harpstrite, Water Polo, Madison Hodgkins, Rowing; Sara Kovac, Beach Volleyball; Maddie Medved, Soccer; Isabella Mullaney, Cheer; Olivia Nielsen, Swimming; Jessie Prichard, Volleyball; Camila Tumosa, Tennis
Male: Daniel Arellano, Water Polo; Brenton Arriaga, Baseball; Luke Bohuslav, Tennis; Tyler Chase, Crew; Blake Meek, Golf; Jose Ochoa, Soccer; Koby Pederson, Cross Country/Track; Buay Tuach, Basketball

Individual - Female: Dana Acquah-Asare – Water Polo
Individual - Male: Spencer Erdman - Baseball
Team - Female: Volleyball
Team - Male: Baseball

Brenton Arriaga, Baseball
Alexandria Bauer, Women’s Rowing
Ted Boeke, Baseball
Luke Bohuslav, Men’s Tennis
Hannah Calton, Swimming
Phil Caulfield, Baseball
Brooke Christensen, Softball
Austin Clark, Men’s Water Polo
Jillian Dawley, Women’s Cross Country/Track
Louisa del Valle, Women’s Rowing
Mark Dotseth, Men’s Soccer
Kyle Dozier, Baseball
Spencer Erdman, Baseball
Alex Finie, Softball
Lexi Frey, Women’s Soccer
Petr Herman, Men’s Basketball
Jackie Johnson, Women’s Basketball
Tamara Jovanovic, Women’s Rowing
Bradley Kritzer, Men’s Crew
• Sophie Leksan, Women’s Soccer
Alvaro Madrigal, Men’s Soccer
Katie Manley, Softball
Lindsey Matoi, Softball
Kristi Mikami, Cheer
Joe Murray, Baseball
Lauren Owens, Women’s Water Polo
Erik Owenson, Baseball
Blake Redman, Baseball
Tess Reid, Volleyball
Irma Sanchez, Softball
Brandon Shearer, Baseball
Sabrina Tebou, Softball
Megan Thorp, Softball
Brandon Vientos, Men’s Cross Country/Track

Griffin Bell, Men’s Soccer
John Bovill, Men’s Soccer
Lindsay Carr, Volleyball
Jill Farley, Women’s Soccer
Steven Haney, Men’s Basketball
Eric Hernandez, Men’s Water Polo
Samuel Johnston, Men’s Crew
Samantha Jordan, Women’s Soccer
• Lia Jorgensen, Swimming
Maddie Lipkowitz, Swimming
Andrea Montes de Oca, Women’s Water Polo
Kailee Mora, Swimming
Malia Murphy, Cheer
Lauren Owens, Women’s Water Polo
Jamey Smart, Baseball
Isabel Willis, Swimming


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago