Lions Head to Mt. Sac Relays and Bryan Clay Invitational

April 16, 2009

Los Angeles, Calif - Loyola Marymount Track Team will compete in two meets this weekend. Four Lions will compete at the Mt. Sac Relays while the rest of the team will head to the Bryan Clay Invitational.

Tara Erdmann, Cassandra Salazar, Oran Arms, and Brian McDonald will compete at the 51st annual Mt. Sac Relays on April 16, 17, and 18. It is hosted at Hilmer Lodge Stadium on the campus of Mt. San Antonio College. Hilmer Lodge Stadium has been the site of two Olympic track and field trials and 13 world records. LMU will be competing in the collegiate portion of the event. The collegiate section takes place April 16-18.

The Lions will compete in the individual distance events on Friday, April 17. Erdmann and Salazar will compete in the women's 5,000 meters while Arms will participate in the men's 1,500 meter race and McDonald will take on the men's 5,000 meters.

The rest of the team will compete at the Bryan Clay Invitational. Formerly known as the Azusa Pacific Invitational, the meet was renamed after one of APU's successful track alumni, Bryan Clay. Clay won the 2008 Olympic gold medal in the decathalon.

The meet will also take place on Friday, April 17. It will be hosted at Cougar Stadium on APU's east campus. LMU will be competing in the men's and women's triple jump, 100 meters, 1,500 meters, 5,000 meters, and the women's 200 meters, the men's 400 meters, and the women's high jump and long jump.

On the women's side, Cynthia Chaidez, Brieanna Delaney, Marissa Diehl, Megan Firley, Shea Franklin, Brooke Lademan, and Kelly McEnerney will be competing in the 5,000 meters. Madeline Hess- Maple and Kylie Hunsaker will take on the 1,500 meters. Amanda Dahlstrom, Jordan Gash, and Tiffany Yee will run the 100 meters. Dahlstrom will also compete in the 200 meters while Yee will take on the Long Jump. Gabrielle Hybki will participate in the High Jump and Chelsea Wirschem will participate in the Triple Jump.



On the men's side Lino Almeida, Phillip Benavides, Scott Donahue, and Trevor Wiseman will run in the men's 5,000 meters. Michael Herrera will compete in the 1,500 meters. Matthew Duncan will run in the 400 meters. Julius Jones will sprint in the 100 meters and Keyon Mitchell will participate in the triple jump.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago