Lions Win Title at USD Invitational

Sept. 9, 2006

Men's Results
Women's Results

San Diego, Calif. - Loyola Marymount cross country made Saturday's USD Invitational a meet to remember when the men's squad captured the team title, marking the first time the Lions have won an invitational under ninth-year Head Coach Scott Guerrero.

Racing against a field that included West Coast Conference foes Pepperdine and the host Toreros, the LMU men finished in a team time of 2:22:23.99 to take first place.

LMU opted to rest five of its top-seven runners on both the men's and women's sides Saturday, making the team title even more special for the men.

The Lions were led by senior Reynaldo Barrera, who finished second among collegiate runners in 28:05.50. Fellow senior Drew Haberkorn also finished in the top-five in 28:07.67.

Chris Eagan (28:41.41), Jordan Legan (28:43.12), and Alex Rendon (28:46.29) rounded out the top-five for the men Saturday.

The women's squad finished third, topping fourth-place San Diego by 21 points. LMU recorded a team time of 2:07:26.10.

Abby Fall, who led the Lion women at last year's USD Invitational, did it again Saturday, finishing fourth in 24:25.32.

Melani Hom (25:16.04), Caitlin Jennings (25:33.21), Kelly Yahr (25:35.85), and Ahnie Draper (26:35.68) completed the top-five for the Lion women Saturday.



The Lions will return to San Diego next weekend for the San Diego State Aztec Invitational. That meet will be the Lions' final Southern California collegiate race of 2006.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago