Men Take Fifth in Invitational, Women Earn Eighth

Sept. 16, 2017

PDF Results Get Acrobat Reader | Live Results | Finished Results | UCR Invitational Meet Page

Photos: Women's 6k Invitational | Men's 8k Invitational | Women's 5k Open | Men's 8k Open | Awards Presentation

Running at the 37th annual UC Riverside Cross Country Invitational from the UCR Agricultural Operations Course, LMU men's cross country finished fifth overall in the team scoring, while the women took home eighth behind a third-place overall finish from Danielle Shanahan.

Shanahan finished the women's race third overall and second amongst collegiate runners. The senior turned in a time of 20:07.8 behind Kristen Findley of Big Bear Track Club (19:56.1) and UCSB's Jenna Hinkle (19:59.8). Freshman Alex Beitia followed in 17th overall (20:36.2) before Maddi Vorgitch (26th | 20:49.1), Giselle Masedo (22:04.0), Elena Garcia (22:16.0), Hannah Wohlenberg (22:23.6) and Kyla Danforth (22:35.8) rounded out the Lions in the Women's 6K Invitational race.

Competing in the Women's 5K Open race, Rosie Cruz (18:33.9) led a pack of seven Lions. Courtney Gelmini (18:39.5), Holly LaPlante (19:12.1), Danielle Nunez (19:52.2), Gaby Guerrero (19:57.6), Johanna Apelryd (21:18.9) and Kiele Hensel (27:27.4) all ran for LMU, helping the Lions to finish 11th overall in the team standings for that race.

On the men's side, Jack Polerecky was the first Lion to finish in the 8K invitational, crossing the finish line in 24:33.9 to claim 17th overall, including 16th amongst collegiate competitors. Patrick Gibson crossed in 41st-place overall with a time of 24:58.3, followed by Jordan McLennan (49th | 25:04.3), Christopher Fredlund (25:21.4), Koby Pederson (25:22.1), Branden Estrada (25:27.0) and Harry Loasby (25:34.3).

LMU's men also showed well in the open race, earning a fourth-place finish in the team standings. The Lions entered eight male runners in the race, with Brian Joerger leading the way for LMU with a time of 25:47.5 to claim 18th overall and ninth amongst collegiate runners. Alex Sasser (26:01.2) followed with a time of 26:01.2 to cross in 29th place before Joey Rodgers (26:08.9), Simeon Paul (26:11.5), Kyle Friedler (26:17.5), Marcus Avila (26:20.0), Ben Davis (26:22.9), Joseph Garcia (27.19.4) and Mat Holton (28:42.9) rounded things out for the Lion men.

The Lions will return to action on September 30 when they participate in the Sacramento State Hornet Invitational.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago