Lions Set Several Career Records at Titan Invitational

Oct. 27, 2003

Brea, Calif. -- With most of the varsity squad preparing for the November 1st West Coast Conference Championships, LMU entered a "B" squad in the Titan Invitation on Friday, October 24. Freshman Drew Haberkorn and sophomore Lara Del Rio paced the Lions at the invitational held at Carbon Canyon Regional Park in Brea, Calif.

Haberkorn finished the 8k in 28:28, his second-best season time. Finishing shortly behind Haberkorn was sophomore Greg Corry at 28:36. Rounding out the men's squad finishers for a fourth place finish were Reynaldo Barrera (29:02), Connor Stinson (29:20), and Dan Judnick (32:16). Stinson's mark was his season-best, and Judnick set a personal course record.

Del Rio led the women to a sixth place finish in the 5k with a time of 19:41, a season-best for the sophomore. Sophomore Erin Wilkinson followed her with a career record 20:37. Michelle Toapanta, Anne Marie Twining, Catherine Lima, and Allison Bernardi also posted 5k career records finishing in 21:35, 22:19, 22:26, and 23:16. Shannon Williams (23:55), Cristina Lowery (25:46), and Rosa Ramirez (29:00) also participated for the women's squad. It was the last collegiate race for Lowery, who has run four seasons with the LMU program.

The Lions will be back in action next week at the WCC Championships at Crystal Springs Course in Belmont, Calif. This is the 20th consecutive year that the championships will be held at this location. LMU has already faced this course this season, opening its 2003 campaign there with the Bronco Invitational on August 30th.



Portland's Joe Driscoll set the men's course record in 2000 with a time of 24:53. Driscoll's brother, Jeff, finished at 24:54 last season, just one second shy of Joe's record.

The women's 5k course record at Crystal Springs in held by Gonzaga's Cheska Fairbanks, who ran a time of 17:26 in 1996. In 2002, Saint Mary's Allegra Porter recorded the second best women's time in WCC Championship history, finishing the 5K course in 17:42. She became only the sixth women's runner to break the 18 minute mark in WCC Championship history.

In 2001, Edit Pakay became the fourth Lion to win the title at the WCC Championships, clocking a school-record 17:58.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago