Erdmann Does It Again With Record 3rd WCC Championship

Tara Erdmann breaks course record for unprecedented 3rd conference title

Oct. 29, 2011 interview with Tara after her record third championship

Women's Results

Men's Results

BELMONT, Calif.- The legend of redshirt senior Tara Erdmann grows with each race and at Saturday's WCC Championships her legend grew even larger. Erdmann finished the women's championship in a course record 20:01, breaking the record she set last year by 20 seconds, to win her 3rd individual conference title at the WCC Championships held at the Crystal Springs Cross Country course in Belmont, Calif. Erdmann became the first person in the history of the conference to win three individual titles. She pulled away from the pack to finish 22 seconds ahead of her nearest competitor on the 6k course. Erdmann's record 3rd championship placed her on the All-WCC team.

The Lions' women finished 4th overall in their centennial race. Brieanna Delaney finished 13th overall with a time of 21:36, her best time at the Crystal Springs course, to receive honorable mention on the All-WCC team. The senior improved her time each year in Belmont. Sophomore transfer Veronica Wallington ran a time of 22:01 to come in 21st place in her first run at the WCC Championships. Junior Jessica Mumaugh crossed the finish line 27th overall in 22:30 beating her time last year by nearly a minute. Junior Caroline Draper and freshman Aeoleone Bristow finished two seconds apart at 23:11 and 23:13, respectively, to finish 49th and 51st overall.

The University of San Francisco won its third straight WCC title. Conference newcomer BYU finished 2nd at their first WCC Championship. The Lions finished only 19 points behind periennial conference favorite Portland, trailing the Pilots by a mere 7 seconds on average.

For the men, the Lions were led by junior Tyre Johnson and sophomore Weston Strum who finished only 7 seconds apart for 21st and 22nd places. Johnson ran the 8k in 25:10

besting his previous best at Crystal Springs by 31 seconds. Strum finished with a time of 25:17, which beat his time from last year by 12 seconds. Sophomore Kevin Joerger finished 30th in 25:55 in his first race at the Championships. Junior Sterling Lockert crossed at 26:05 to come in 34th overall. Following close behind was sophomore Drew Dalton who finished in 26:08 for 36th overall.

The men's race was won by BYU who, in their first year in the WCC, ended the Portland Pilots record 32 consecutive conference titles. Portland finished second ahead of the University of San Francisco. The Lions finished just 9 points behind fourth place Santa Clara.

LMU's team perfomed well at the Championships, with several runners breaking personal bests and improving on performances from last year at Crystal Springs. With the young Lions getting valuable experience and the upperclassmen getting better, LMU can look forward to more success.

The next race for the Lions will be Saturday, Nov. 12 at the NCAA West Regionals.


2011 West Coast Conference Women's Cross Country Championship (6K)

Crystal Springs Course

Belmont, Calif.

Team Scores

1.     San Francisco 32

2.     BYU 52

3.     Portland 86

4.     Loyola Marymount 105

5.     Gonzaga 128

6.     San Diego 165

7.     Santa Clara 178

8.     Pepperdine 189

9.     Saint Mary's 246

Top Individual Finishers

1. Tara Erdmann (Loyola Marymount), 20:01*; 2. Laura Suur (San Francisco), 20:23; 3. Morgan Haws (BYU), 20:38; 4. Katy Andrews (BYU), 20:51; 5. Sophie Curl (San Francisco), 20:54; 6. Chloe Treleven (San Francisco) 21:06; 7. Maor Tiyouri (San Francisco), 21:06; 8. Marit Tegelaar (Portland), 21:12; 9. Emily Thomas (Gonzaga), 21:15; 10. Merel van Steenberg (Portland), 21:15; 11. Kellie Houser (Portland), 21:20; 12. Alice Baker (San Francisco), 21:32; 13. Brieanna Delaney (Loyola Marymount), 21:36; 14. Stephanie Jensen-Bills (BYU), 21:39; 15. Candace Eddy (BYU), 21:42; 16. Michaelann Laurent (BYU), 21:49; 17. Sarah Darby (BYU), 21:56; 18. Rachel Lange-Schmutz (BYU), 21:56; 19. Lauren Lodge (Pepperdine), 21:57; 20. KendyChristensen (BYU), 22:00.

*New course record

2011 Women's Cross Country All-West Coast Conference Team

Katy Andrews, BYU, Sr.

Sophie Curl, San Francisco, Jr.

Tara Erdmann, Loyola Marymount, Sr.

Morgan Haws, BYU, Sr.

Laura Suur, San Francisco, Jr.

Merit Tegelaar, Portland, Jr.

Emily Thomas, Gonzaga, So.

Maor Tiyouri, San Francisco, So.

Chloe Treleven, Jr., San Francisco

Merel van Steenberg, Portland, So.

Honorable Mention

Alice Baker, San Francisco, Jr.

Brieanna Delaney, Loyola Marymount, Sr.

Candace Eddy, BYU, So.

Kellie Houser, Portland, So.

Stephanie Jensen-Bills, BYU, Jr.

WCC Individual Champion

Tara Erdmann, Loyola Marymount, Sr.

WCC Women's Coach of the Year

Helen Lehman-Winters 

WCC Freshman of the Year

Sarah Darby, BYU

2011 West Coast Conference Men's Cross Country Championship (8K)

Crystal Springs Course

Belmont, Calif. 

Team Scores

1.     BYU 25

2.     Portland 32

3.     San Francisco 119

4.     Santa Clara 122

5.     Loyola Marymount 131

6.     Gonzaga 140

7.     Saint Mary's 220

8.     San Diego 249

9.     Pepperdine 252

Top Individual Finishers

1. Miles Batty (BYU), 23:47*; 2. Alfred Kipchumba (Portland), 23:49; 3. Trevor Dunbar (Portland),23:51; 4. Jared Ward (BYU), 24:03; 5. Rex Shields (BYU), 24:08; 6. Joash Osoro (Portland), 24:11; 7. Alden Bahr (BYU), 24:13; 8. Tylor Thatcher (BYU), 24:22; 9. Lars Erik Malde (Portland), 24:32; 10. Jason Witt (BYU), 24:41; 11. Steve Flint (BYU), 24:43; 12. David Perry (Portland), 24:44; 13. Ben Demaree (Santa Clara), 24:48; 14. Scott Fauble (Portland), 24:49; 15. Robbie Reid (Santa Clara), 24:51; 16. Jared Bassett (Portland), 24:53; 17. Jose Madera (San Francisco), 24:55; 18. Jeremy Grace (San Francisco), 24:59; 19. Matt Frerker (Portland), 25:03; 20. William Kincaid (Portland), 25:05.

*new course record


2011 Men's Cross Country All-West Coast Conference Team

Alden Bahr, BYU, So.

Miles Batty, BYU, Sr.

Trevor Dunbar, Portland, Jr.

Alfred Kipchumba, Portland, Sr.

Lars Erik Malde, Portland, Jr.

Joash Osoro, Portland, Jr.

Rex Shields, BYU, Jr.

Tylor Thatcher, BYU, So.

Jared Ward, BYU, So.

Jason Witt, BYU, So.

Honorable Mention

Ben Demaree, Santa Clara, So.

Scott Fauble, Portland, Fr.

Steve Flint, BYU, Fr.

David Perry, Portland, Fr.

Robbie Reid, Santa Clara, Sr.

WCC Individual Champion

Miles Batty, BYU, Sr. 

WCC Men's Coach of the Year

Ed Eyestone, BYU

WCC Freshman of the Year

Steve Flint, BYU




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago