Pakay Places 7th at WCC Championships

Nov. 2, 2002

Final Stats

Crystal Springs, Calif. - Loyola Marymount University's Edit Pakay was unable to defend her West Coast Conference title, while finishing seventh individually, leading the Lions to a sixth place finish. The LMU men also finished sixth, paced by Bernie Ochoa's 18th place finish. Portland swept the team titles.

Pakay, running in her first race of the season, clocked an 18:55 over the 5k course as Allegra Porter of Saint Mary's won the women's race with a time of 17:42, after a second place finish last year. Coming in second was Santa Clara's Kim Bates with a time of 18:05. Junior Nicole Ricci of Portland, the 2000 WCC individual champion, finished third with a time of 18:18, while fellow Pilot Alison Smith finished fourth with a time of 18:26. Kim Croswell of San Diego finished fifth with a time of 18:46.

The WCC Freshman of the Year for the women was Jen Dowthit from San Diego. Dowthit finished sixth with a time of 18:51. The 2002 WCC Women's Cross Country Co-Coach of the Year went to Ian Solof of Portland and San Diego's Rich Cota.

Ochoa ran a 27:07 over the 8k course, while Jeff Driscoll of Portland won the men's race with a time of 24:54. This is the 24th consecutive time that the Pilots have taken home the title, which is the longest championship streak in WCC history.

Trevor Coolidge of Portland came in second with a time of 25:06. San Diego's Antonio Lopez finished third with a time of 25:26. Finishing fourth was Kevin Smith of Portland with a time of 25:45. Rounding out the top five was Joey Hord, who finished with a time of 25:57.

Freshman of the Year went to Trevor Coolidge of Portland who finished second with a time of 25:06. Coach of the Year went Portland's Rob Conner.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago