Class of 2011 Joins Hall of Fame

Jan. 31, 2011


Click Here to View a Summary Video of the Hall of Fame Banquet
Click Here to View Pakay's Acceptance Speech

LMU Athletics welcomed four new individuals and two new teams into its Hall of Fame on Saturday during a Hall of Fame Banquet held in Burns Back Court. Kate Murray (women's basketball, 2004), Edit Pakay (women's tennis/cross country, 2003), Arturo Torres (Men's Soccer, 2003), Kevin Witt (Men's Water Polo, 2003), the 1950 Loyola football team, and the 1989 women's rowing four that won a national championship are the newest members of the Hall of Fame.

The four individuals bring the number of members in the Hall of Fame, which was started in 1986, to 108. The two teams are the fifth and sixth inducted into the Hall of Fame, as they join the 1969 football team, the 1981 women's rowing team, the 1990 men's basketball team, and the 1986 baseball team.

The day began with a luncheon at Burns Back Court, where the inductees and approximately 250 guests were welcomed with a three-course meal and a slideshow of photos from the storied careers of the athletes.

After welcoming messages from LMU Athletic Director Bill Husak and Master of Ceremonies Bernie Sandalow, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009, each athlete or team was introduced and allowed to give an acceptance speech.

Although the speeches closed the banquet, the day was far from over, as the inductees were invited to take a campus tour, converse with one another at various locations including in the athletic suites at the Leavey Center.

A tailgate for the men's basketball game against Santa Clara followed shortly thereafter, as the inductees and their families mingled with other alumni who came back to the bluff for LMU's annual Homecoming ceremonies.

The Hall of Fame festivities concluded at the game, as the inductees were introduced at halftime in front of an impressive crowd of Lion faithful. The four individuals and two teams will now be remembered forever in LMU Athletics history, as their plaques have been hung in the Founder's Room with the rest of the Hall of Fame members.

To read more about the careers of each of the newest members of the LMU Athletics Hall of Fame, please click the appropriate links below:

Kate Murray

Edit Pakay

Arturo Torres, Jr.

Kevin Witt

1989 LMU Women's Rowing

1950 Loyola Football




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA