Shanahan Earns NCAA Championships Berth

Danielle Shanahan is headed to the national championships.
Nov. 14, 2015

2015 Schedule | Give to LMU Athletics | LMU on Facebook |

Complete NCAA Release | Photo Gallery From NCAA West Regionals

LOS ANGELES - For the seventh time in 10 years, LMU women's cross country will be represented at the NCAA National Championships. Junior Danielle Shanahan has been granted an at-large berth following her 13th-place finish at the West Regional meet on Friday.

The Torrance, Calif., native joins LMU greats Laura Mickelson (2006, 2007), Tara Erdmann (2008, 2010, 2011) and Sheree Shea (2012) as the fourth Lion to reach the national stage.

"Danielle has steadily improved every year and last year was an All-Region honoree, but just missed qualifying," said LMU Head Coach Scott Guerrero. "It's nice to see her rewarded for all her hard work and dedication. I'm so proud of her and so glad to see her finally get some recognition for the extraordinary talent that she is."



Shanahan has steadily improved from an already solid base during her first three seasons as a Lion. She placed 15th at the WCC Championships as a freshman, earning WCC Freshman of the Year honors. Last fall, she placed third in an LMU-record 6K time, and followed with a 19th-place finish at the West Regional meet.

This fall, she earned her second straight First Team All-WCC honor with a runner-up finish, before taking 13th overall at the West Regional meet in Seattle. Becoming the fourth Lion to race at nationals, she will look to become only the second LMU women's cross country All-American. Erdmann earned the honor in both 2010 and 2011, including a 10th place finish her final season.

"The West Coast Conference is becoming a major force in cross country," Guerrero added. "All three teams that finished ahead of us at the WCC Championships (Gonzaga, BYU and USF) made the NCAA Championship. The West Region is hyper-competitive so it is easy to get overshadowed but the fact is that the WCC will have four programs represented at this year's championship."

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals qualified in their respective NCAA regional competitions.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their regions.

The University of Louisville will host the championships, Saturday, Nov. 21, at Tom Sawyer State Park located in Louisville, Kentucky. The women's race will begin at noon Eastern Time, followed by the men's race at approximately 1 p.m. Eastern Time. A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from noon Eastern Time until the conclusion of the awards ceremony, Saturday, November 21, on

Support LMU's 22 intercollegiate teams and it's student-athletes through scholarships and team support.
Together WE ARE LMU Lions... join the pride today:
Join the Lions Athletic Fund | This is LMU

Email Article  Email this article Print Article  Printer-friendly format


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago