Shanahan To Compete At NCAA Cross Country Championships

Nov. 16, 2017

LIVE RESULTS

LOS ANGELES - Redshirt senior Danielle Shanahan will represent LMU cross country at the 2017 Division I NCAA Cross Country Championships at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Kentucky on Saturday, Nov. 18. This marks Shanahan’s third NCAA Championship qualification and the eighth time in the last 12 seasons the Lions will be represented at the national event.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals qualified at their respective NCAA regional competitions. Shanahan finished in 12th place in last weekend’s NCAA West Regional race in Seattle, which was her highest career finish at the regional meet. She ran a LMU school-record with a time of 19:48.5.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their regions.

Shanahan will race in the women’s 6K beginning at 10:45 a.m. EST (7:45 a.m. PST). The men’s 10K will follow at 11:45 a.m. (8:45 a.m. PST) and the awards ceremony will be held at 12:45 p.m. (9:45 a.m. PST).

Follow LMU cross country on Twitter @LMULionTRaXC for updates from the event.

Coverage of the championships will be available starting at 10:30 a.m. EST (7:30 a.m. PST) until the conclusion of the awards ceremony, and can be accessed at www.FloTrack.com.

 

 

Twitter

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago