Dahlson Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Junior closer Bret Dahlson was named to the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List.

Feb. 8, 2013


2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch ListGet Acrobat Reader

LMU junior reliever Bret Dahlson was named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Watch List, it was announced on Friday morning. Dahlson is one of 75 players named to the initial watch list that will eventually crown the nation's top relief pitcher.

Dahlson is in his third season with LMU baseball, but only his second as a pitcher. The JSerra High School product enters the year ranked fifth in LMU history for saves (11) after totaling all 11 last year while serving as the Lion closer. During his inaugural year on the hill, Dahlson pitched to a 3-3 record with a 2.94 ERA. The 11 saves were good for second-most in LMU history for a single season. Overall, Dahlson made 26 relief appearances to the tune of 33.2 innings while striking out 30 hitters over the span.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago