Lions Claim 2010 Dairy Queen Classic Title

March 7, 2010

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - LMU (3-8) won the 2010 Dairy Queen Classic over the weekend by finishing the three-day tournament with a 2-1 record. The Lions defeated Oklahoma State, which also had a 2-1 record, by a count of 3-0 in what proved to be the Championship Game on Sunday due to tiebreaker rules. Minnesota and Northwestern both finished 1-2 in the tournament.

Sunday's starter John Lally was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament for his seven shutout innings and career-high tying five strikeouts against Oklahoma State to help LMU to the championship. Lally, who combined with Alex Gillingham to throw a two-hit shutout, was also named to the All-Tournament team with Jonathan Johnson and Ryan Hawthorne.

Johnson batted .417 (5-for-12) with two runs scored, a double, two triples, and a pair of stolen bases. He reached base at a 462 clip and slugged .833. The native of Lakewood, Calif. recorded a 3-for-4 day at the plate with a run scored and a triple, his second of the tournament and third of the season, on Sunday in the Championship Game. Hawthorne finished the three-day tournament with a .375 batting average (3-for-8) with a double, a walk, three sacrifice bunts and a RBI. He slugged .500 and reached base at a .444 clip. Hawthorne's best day came on Saturday as he finished 2-for-3 with two of LMU's three hits in a loss to Northwestern.

Northwestern was represented by pitcher Francis Brooke, catcher Chad Noble, first baseman Jack Havey, and designated hitter Paul Snieder. Oklahoma State was represented by third baseman Mark Ginther and outfielder Luis Uribe. Minnesota placed AJ Petterson and Michael Kvasnicka on the All-Tournament team. Pettersen won the 2010 Silver Stick Award for highest batting average in the tournament. He batted .545 (6-for-11) and scored five runs in the tournament.



The Lions return to action on Friday when they host Cal State Northridge at 2 p.m.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago