Dahlson Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Senior Bret Dahlson was named to the mid-season NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List.

April 23, 2014

Senior Bret Dahlson was named to the mid-season NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List, it was announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Writer's Association on Wednesday.

Dahlson currently sports a 0-0 record with a 1.93 ERA as he has pitched to seven saves over 24 appearances and 28 innings of work. The native of Yorba Linda, Calif. became LMU's career saves leader earlier this year, passing Darryl Scott (1987-90) for the honor. Dahlson, who has punched out 24 hitters over his 28 innings this year, enters the weekend series at Santa Clara with 25 career saves. The right-hander registered 11 saves in 2012 and seven in 2013, with the 11 saves ranking second in LMU's single-season record book.

Including Dahlson, 50 players were named to the mid-season watch list for the 10th annual Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

The national saves leader, Sam Moore of UC Irvine, highlights this year's mid-season list which consists of players from 21 difference conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with seven players on the list followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference and Big West Conference with four nominees apiece. The Big 12, Ohio Valley, Pac-12, Southern and West Coast Conferences each have three pitchers on the mid-season watch list.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2014 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Berg of UCLA was crowned the winner in 2013.



The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago