Gregg Olson Award Semifinalist Added to Abbott's Resume

June 5, 2017

Junior Cory Abbott's historic season continues to draw attention, as the right-hander was named a semifinalist for the 2017 Gregg Olson Award presented by Toolshed Sports. The award honors college baseball’s breakout player of the year. The annual award is given to a top amateur baseball player who elevates his game to an elite level throughout the season.

Abbott, the West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year and a first team All-American according to Collegiate Baseball, is also one of five finalists for the National Pitcher of the Year Award presented by the College Baseball Foundation. The native of San Diego, Calif. went 11-2 with a 1.74 ERA over 15 starts this year, guiding LMU to its first WCC Championship since 2000. The right-hander logged 98.1 innings and struck out 130 hitters while limiting the opposition to just 61 hits and a .173 average against. The highlight of Abbott’s season came on March 25 when he tossed the first perfect game in LMU and West Coast Conference history, defeating BYU by a score of 2-0. The perfect game was one of two complete game shutouts thrown by Abbott this season.

Abbott’s stellar season ranks amongst the best in LMU history, as he turned in the lowest opponent batting average (.173) and most strikeouts-per-nine innings (11.90), second-best ERA (1.74), second-most shutouts (2), fourth-most strikeouts (130), and seventh-most wins (11).

After a freshman season at Auburn filled with only mixed success, Gregg Olson became one of the top collegiate players in the nation during an outstanding, unprecedented sophomore season. Despite being omitted from any preseason All American lists, Olson went on to lead the entire nation in ERA with a 1.26 mark and compiled an incredible 11-1 record with 10 saves for the Tigers.

Following a summer pitching for the USA National Team where he lead the club in strikeouts, Olson returned to Auburn for another spectacular season. He led the SEC with a 2.00 ERA and amassed a triple-digit strikeout total, issuing 113 K’s in only 72 innings with only 27 walks. He finished his collegiate career with back-to-back First Team All American honors, a 25-7 record, 3.03 ERA, 20 saves, 271 strikeouts and redefined the way college coaches used their top pitcher.



The Olson Award has been developed to honor college baseball’s success stories and showcase players like Olson who have raised the level of their game through hard work, strength of mind and determination. Eligible players will be those who are omitted from major publication’s preseason All American prognostications; however by the end of the season their on the field performance will demonstrate that they are among the top amateur baseball players in the nation.

Finalists will be announced during Super Regional action. The winner of the 2017 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park.

For more information visit:

Cory Abbott, LMU
Johnny Aiello, Wake Forest
Tanner Allison, Western Michigan
Scott Boches, Marist
Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest
Rob Calabrese, UIC
Brett Conine, CS Fullerton
Nick Egli, Belmont
Sam Finfer, Marshall
Ryan Flick, Tennessee Tech
Nick Gallagher, Binghamton
Lincoln Henzman, Louisville
Nick Kennedy, Texas
Ron Marinaccio, Delaware
Garrett McCain, Oklahoma St
Jared Oliva, Arizona
Matt Peacock, Southern Alabama
Andrew Perez, South Florida
Tristan Pompey, Kentucky
Will Robertson, Davidson
Taylor Schwaner, Southeast Louisiana
Shane Selman, McNeese State
Jake Thompson, Oregon State
Brock Weimer, SIUE
Kyle Zurak, Radford


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago