All-Region, More All-American Honors Emerge for Abbott

June 15, 2017

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams | ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans | D1Baseball All-Americans

Junior right-hander Cory Abbott was showered with a few more awards on Wednesday and Thursday, claiming second team All-American honors according to D1Baseball and the ABCA, and a spot on the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region squad.

With the latest recognition, Abbott has now been tabbed a first team All-American by Baseball America, Collegiate Baseball and Perfect Game, and a second team All-American according to D1Baseball, the ABCA, and the NCBWA.

Abbott, who was a finalist for National Pitcher of the Year, is the first Lion to be named All-Region since David Fletcher earned a second team nod in 2014. The last first team selection came in 2000 when Anthony Angel was lauded.

The 2017 West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year went 11-2 with a 1.74 ERA over 15 starts this year, guiding LMU to its first WCC Championship since 2000. The right-hander logged 98.1 innings and struck out 130 hitters while limiting the opposition to just 61 hits and a .173 average against. The highlight of Abbott's season came on March 25 when he tossed the first perfect game in LMU and West Coast Conference history, defeating BYU by a score of 2-0. The perfect game was one of two complete game shutouts thrown by Abbott this season.

Abbott's stellar season ranks amongst the best in LMU history, as he turned in the lowest opponent batting average (.173) and most strikeouts-per-nine innings (11.90), second-best ERA (1.74), second-most shutouts (2), fourth-most strikeouts (130), and seventh-most wins (11).



D1Baseball editors Aaron Fitt and Kendall Rogers take the lead in determining the All-America teams. On-field performance and quality of competition are the primary factors considered, but individual character is also taken into account.

First recognized in 1949, the ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans are selected by the ABCA All-America committee, which is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University. The committee also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O'Connor (Virginia), Butch Thompson (Auburn), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Dan Heefner (Dallas Baptist), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 74th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 4-7, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago