Memorable Moments Cap Final Weekend as Brackets Are Set

Alex Cowling embraces the crowd following the Senior Day win.

March 3, 2013

2013 WCC Championships | Men's Bracket | Women's Bracket | LMU on Facebook | LMU on Twitter

LOS ANGELES -- The final 48 hours of the 2013 regular season was one marked with memorable achievements, both of today and yesterday. On the same weekend LMU Athletics inducted its latest class into the Hall of Fame and honored men's basketball's record-setting scorers as part of the NCAA 75th anniversary of March Madness, LMU women's basketball can now claim the greatest scorer in league history.



The final weekend of the regular season saw senior Alex Cowling become the West Coast Conference all-time leading scorer in women's basketball history, netting 21 points to lead LMU to its biggest win in many seasons with a 68-55 upset of BYU on Senior Night no less. LMU owns both scoring leaders in league history, as Cowling holds the women's all-time record with 2,187 points, while LMU's Hank Gathers holds the men's record at 2,490.

Then, less than 48 hours later, Cowling, fellow senior Dani LeNoir and the Lions erased a 16-point deficit on the road at San Francisco to earn a big come-from-behind win. The escape, in which Cowling had another 21 points, saw the Lions jump from seventh to fifth in the WCC standings.

The WCC announced its official brackets for the 2013 WCC Basketball Championships, which start on Wednesday, March 6 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

The women wrapped up the fifth seed and will face the winner of No. 8 San Francisco and No. 9 Pepperdine on Thursday, March 7 at 12 noon. As for the men, they will face Portland in the WCC Opening Round game on Wednesday, March 6 at 6 p.m.

For the first time, all 16 games from the 2013 West Coast Conference Championships will be nationally televised. Wednesday's opening round and Thursday's second round men's and women's action will be televised live on BYUtv. Available in well over 60 million homes nationwide via cable and satellite, BYUtv will also televise the women's quarterfinals and semifinals. BYUtv is also available in HD via live streaming and video on-demand, smart phone apps, and Roku or Google TV devices.

The men's quarterfinals will be once again televised on ESPNU, with the men's semis airing nationally on ESPN2. On Monday, the women's championship game will be shown nationwide at 1 p.m. on ESPNU. Later that evening, at 6 p.m., the West Coast Conference men's championship game will air live on ESPN.

The men's and women's winners of the 2013 West Coast Conference Basketball Championships will each receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

All LMU games will be broadcast live on KXLU 88.9 FM.

The men ended the season recognizing seniors Taylor Walker and Ashley Hamilton, who ranks 19th in playing his 109th game on Saturday, a game marked with achievements. The game pitted the WCC's top two scorers in BYU's Tyler Haws and LMU's Anthony Ireland. Just 0.4 points separated the two and they fittingly scored 24 points each in a game that came down to the final seconds.

Scoring seemed to be the theme of the evening as Ireland continues his memorable season, becoming just the 15th player in program history to net at least 600 points in a single season. His season total sits at 618 heading into the WCC Championships, ranked 13th all-time at LMU. His career total moved to 1,506, 10th all-time at LMU.

This coming on a night in which Bo Kimble, Jeff Fryer and Terrell Lowery where on hand as part of LMU's Hall of Fame Weekend and the NCAA 75th Anniversary Celebration of March Madness. While Gathers leads the league in scoring, Lowery is third with 2,201, Kimble seventh at 2,010 and Fryer 10th at 1,980. They were all part of the Lions' record-setting 1989-90 men's basketball team that went to the Elite Eight and is being recognized as playing a role in making March Madness what it is today.

All were on hand Saturday to help celebrate LMU Athletics' Hall of Fame and its induction ceremony of the Class of 2013. This year's class included Albert Gersten, II (benefactor), Danielle Kaminaka (softball), Kealani Kimball (women's volleyball), John R. Lind, Sr. (men's crew head coach), Endre Rex-Kiss (men's water polo), Thomas Salvino (men's basketball), Lynn Agnes Scott (women's tennis) and the 2004 women's water polo team.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA