Lions to Play In 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic

Diamond Head Classic

March 4, 2014

Diamond Head Classic | WCC Championships | This is LMU Basketball | LMU on Facebook | LMU on Twitter

The 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic field is complete with the addition of DePaul University and Loyola Marymount University. The Blue Demons and Lions join previously announced squads Colorado, George Washington, Nebraska, Ohio, Wichita State and host school Hawai'i in the sixth edition of the tournament.

DePaul will be the first BIG EAST squad to appear in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. The Blue Demons boast a rich basketball history with more than 1,400 all-time victories and 22 NCAA Championship appearances. This year's team features a pair of the BIG EAST's top freshman in Billy Garrett Jr. and Tommy Hamilton IV. Garrett leads all BIG EAST rookies in scoring and assists while Hamilton is the top freshman rebounder in the conference.

Loyola Marymount will make its first appearance in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. It marks the fifth time in six years that a West Coast Conference squad will compete in the tournament. The Lions have advanced to the postseason twice in the last four seasons and are just two years removed from a 21-win campaign, the team's best season since the storied 1989-90 squad advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight.

The two squads join a field highlighted by Wichita State. The Shockers, who advanced to the 2013 NCAA Final Four, just completed an undefeated regular-season and are ranked No. 2 in the latest Associated Press poll.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai'i. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.



Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC (2009), Butler (2010), Kansas State (2011), Arizona (2012) and Iowa State (2013). Arizona is currently No. 3 in the nation, while Iowa State is ranked No. 16.

The family-friendly tournament includes three days of tournament play, practices, events and travel experiences unique to the islands of Hawai'i.

Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic's official Web site at

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

ESPN Events
ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, owns and operates a large portfolio of collegiate sporting events worldwide. The roster includes two Labor Day weekend college football games; 11 college bowl games and eight college basketball events, which accounts for approximately 200 hours of programming, reaches almost 64 million viewers and attracts over a half a million attendees each year. With satellite offices in Boise, Birmingham, Dallas-Fort Worth, Albuquerque, St. Petersburg and Las Vegas, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans.

ESPN Events also manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program.

Collegiate Football
AdvoCare Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Birmingham Bowl (Alabama); Boca Raton Bowl (Florida); Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Hawai'i Bowl (Honolulu); Heart of Dallas Bowl Presented by PlainsCapital Bank (Dallas-Fort Worth); Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.); Royal Purple Las Vegas Bowl; St. Petersburg Bowl (Florida) and The Home Depot College Football Awards

Collegiate Basketball
Armed Forces Classic (Camp Humphreys, South Korea); Charleston Classic Presented by Gildan (S.C.); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); DIRECTV Wooden Legacy (Orange County, Calif.); Jimmy V Men's & Women's Basketball Classics presented by Corona (Madison Square Garden & TBD); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan, PR) and State Farm Champions Classic (United Center, Chicago)

For more information, visit or follow on Twitter and Facebook.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago