Another Positive Result

Aug. 31, 2008

Box Score

Los Angeles, CA - The concluding game of the 2008 Fall Classic followed the script from the weekend with more last-minute heroics and even more overtimes as LMU and #8 Saint Louis battled to a 2-2 tie Sunday afternoon at Sullivan Field. The Lions (0-0-2) and Billikens (0-0-2) tie for second in the tournament, which was won by New Mexico.

It was only fitting that the fourth and final game of the weekend be decided after overtime as all four contests needed extra time. LMU looked like it would end the cycle as the Lions twice took the lead, only to see the Billikens fight back and equalize on each occasion, the second coming with just 2:34 remaining on the clock.

LMU rolled out another young lineup, featuring five freshmen and three sophomores in the starting lineup. The young bucks proved themselves well as freshman Tyler Krumpe fed a through-ball to sophomore Sharif Khatib, who turned at the edge of the area and slotted his finish past SLU goalkeeper Pat Disbennett to give the Lions a 1-0 lead at 25:56. The goal was Khatib's first as a Lion as he made his first career start.

The Lions certainly were not playing like underdogs and refused to back down in a game that featured eight yellow cards and one red. In the LMU goal, redshirt freshman Jack McCormack was impressive in his debut, stretching to his right to turn away a shot by Dado Hamzagic just before the half.

Saint Louis was sure to make a game of it in the second 45 minutes and did just that, pulling level at 56:37 as Kyle Patterson latched on to a cross by James Jaramillo to loop his header over McCormack. From that point on, both keepers kept their teams in the game with fine saves until LMU freshman Artur Jozkowicz, who had been on for just five minutes, put LMU back in front. The Lions built a strong move down the left flank and the ball was crossed in. Disbennett came out to claim but could not handle the ball as he dove. Jozkowicz pounced on the rebound, rifling the ball into the net to give LMU what looked to be the game-winner with less than 10 minutes left.



With Saint Louis pushing forward, the opportunity was there for the Lions to counter-attack and they almost put the game out of reach. After SLU had sent numbers forward, freshman Kyle Johanson beat the offside trap at midfield and just had Disbennett to beat. Johanson tried to chip the goalie from 40 yards out but his attempt sailed just wide.

Saint Louis was not done, however, and the Billikens again equalized, this time through a rocket from Brandon Barklage. Picking the ball up on the left side, Barklage cut into the middle and unleashed a liner from 35-yards that gave McCormack no chance as it settled into the top corner.

A subdued first overtime gave way to a tense final 10 minutes. LMU gained a man advantage just 69 seconds into the second overtime after Saint Louis' Alex Johnston picked up his second yellow card. It was the Billikens who would press forward, however, and LMU was lucky to escape as Kyle Patterson's shot from 22 yards came back off the crossbar and Jimmy Holmes' follow-up was deflected off the post. At the other end, freshman Fernando Barba nearly gave LMU the win but his long-range attempt was wide.

Saint Louis held a 19-16 shot advantage but LMU was more accurate, forcing Disbennett into two saves while McCormack made one for the Lions.

LMU remains at home next week to face Cal Poly on Friday and UC Santa Barbara on Sunday.

New Mexico 2, San Diego 1 (ot)

In the opening game of Sunday's play, New Mexico overcame a 1-0 deficit with the equalizing goal in the 87th minute and the game-winner in the 91st to defeat San Diego 2-1 and win the 2008 LMU Fall Classic. Stephen Brown nabbed the decisive goal just 1:39 into the first overtime period for the Lobos (1-0-1).

For most of the game, it looked like it would be San Diego (0-1-1) who would claim at least a share of the title. J.T. Howlan gave San Diego the lead in the fourth minute when he latched on to a pass from Andrew Feld. Finding himself in space just inside the area, Howlan's left-footed finish beat New Mexico goalie Eric Staver low to his left.

USD maintained its advantage through halftime and into what would be an action-packed second half. UNM held most of the possession and pushed forward, only to be denied on multiple occasions. USD was forced to change its goalkeeper in the 59th minute when starter Kelin Briones had to lead the game after a collision in the area. He was replaced by Tommy McClain, who was immediately called into action, only to see Gal Yaar's mis-hit cross carom back off the post.

With time winding down, Chris Wright pulled UNM level, rising up above the defense to head home a cross from Ryan Farquharson with just 3:27 to go in regulation. That set the stage for Brown's game-winner as he latched on to a deflected through-ball to chip a diving McClain and give New Mexico the win.

All-Tournament Team
New Mexico - Chris Wright (MVP), Zach Tierney, Simon Ejdemyr, Jack Smithson
LMU - Rafael Baca, Logan McDaniel, Roger Downes
Saint Louis - Rob Viviano, Tim Ream, Brandon Barklage, Alex Johnston
San Diego - Kelin Briones, Ryan Peterman



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago