Seniors Go Out With 3-2 Win

Pedro Velazquez netted the game-winner for LMU.

Nov. 13, 2013

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

LMU Tickets by TicketWest | Complete 2013 Schedule | LMU on Facebook |

LOS ANGELES - On Senior Night at Sullivan Field it was a freshman and sophomore who took charge, propelling the LMU men's soccer team to a 3-2 victory over San Diego Wednesday night.

Rookie Adrien Perez scored twice and sophomore Perdro Velazquez, the 2012 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year, netted his first goal of the season to give the Lions three key points in the race for the WCC title. LMU improves to 12-4-1 overall and 8-2-1 in league play. They now hold a four-point lead over second-place Santa Clara. The two teams will meet Friday in Santa Clara with kick off scheduled for 7 p.m.

Perez put the Lions on the board in the 37th minute with his ninth goal of the season. Sean Sears began the action, sending a ball to Velazquez since the left side of the box. Velazquez beat his defender and slipped a shot across the goalmouth for Perez, who pushed a shot into the left lower netting.

Four minutes later, Perez struck again, collecting a rebound off a blocked save by USD's goalkeeper Michael D'Arrigo and whipping a shot to the far post. Velazquez, who took the shot saved by D'Arrigo, earned an assist on the goal.

San Diego (6-9-4, 2-6-3 WCC) used two quick counters to even the score. On their first possession following LMU's second goal, Darragh Vieyra found Sergio Lopez in center of the box, cutting the Lion lead in half just before the break.

The Toreros carried that momentum into the opening possession of the second period, taking the ball the length of the half off the opening kick off and knotting the score at two apiece on a Keegan Smith goal.

It was then Velazquez who snapped the 2-2 tie as he took a cross from Perez in the 69th minute and sent a right-footed shot into the right near post from 12 yards out. Christian Alvarado also earned an assist on the goal.

The seven-member senior class of Eric Brunter, Cameron Krumpe, Trent Clifton, Christian Alvarado, Aaron Garfinkel, Billy Thompson and Sean Sears were honored prior to the match in brief ceremony. All seven were members of the Lion squad in 2010 when the program last achieved a dozen wins and earned its first WCC title.

- #LMULions -



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA