Nitti Name to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Senior defender Craig Nitti
Aug. 6, 2014

BUY TICKETS | 2014 Schedule | LMU on Facebook |

Complete 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Senior defender Craig Nitti was among the 32 NCAA Division I men's soccer plays named to the 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy watch list, announced Wednesday by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in NCAA soccer presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 9, 2015, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The 2014 Watch Lists were announced earlier today on on the "2014 NSCAA College Soccer Review Show," which also revealed the 2014 NSCAA/Continental Tire Preseason College Rankings for NCAA Division I men's and women's teams.

Nitti is the third player in LMU men's soccer history to be named to the MAC Hermann watch list, joining the ranks of Rafael Baca (2009) and Roger Downes (2011).

The 6-5, 210-lb redshirt senior from Calabasas, Calif., had a standout junior campaign for the Lion squad that clinched it's first-ever outright West Coast Conference title and a sixth all-time NCAA Tournament berth. Nitti anchored the Lions' back line that posted seven shutouts and a 0.85 GAA while going 13-4-3 overall and 9-2-1 in the WCC.



He scored twice on the year, including one game-winner, and added one assist. Nitti's season culminated by being named to the All-WCC first team as well as the NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Division I All-Far West Region second team.

The MAC Hermann lists are compiled by the NSCAA Men's and Women's NCAA Division I All-America Committees, based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January.

LMU opens the 2014 season, the 50th in program history, on August 23, hosting Cal State Northridge in an exhibition match. Kick off is scheduled for 7 p.m. at Sullivan Field.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago