Krumpe Named WCC Coach of the Year, 10 Lions Honored

Sophomore Paul Blanchette has seven shutouts and a 0.81 GAA.

Nov. 19, 2013

Inside LMU Men's Soccer | Complete 2013 Schedule | LMU on Facebook |

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Head Coach Paul Krumpe was named West Coast Conference Coach of the Year, Paul Blanchette earned Goalkeeper of the Year honors and 10 total Lions earned selection to the 2013 Men's Soccer All-WCC Teams, released Tuesday. All five individual awards and the all-conference teams, were voted on by the league's seven head coaches.

Krumpe, in his 16th year, earned his second career WCC Coach of the Year award after also receiving the honor in 1999. He led the Lions to a 13-4-2 overall record and a 9-2-1, first-place finish in the WCC. It was the second all-time league title for the Lions and first outright honor, which sent LMU into the NCAA Tournament with the league's automatic bid.

All of the Lions' regular starters earned selection to one of the All-WCC teams, led by junior midfielder John McFarlin, junior defender Craig Nitti and freshman forward Adrien Perez, who all earned first team nods.



Blanchette, who became the Lions' first WCC Goalkeper of the Year selection (in the three-year history of the award) with an LMU best seven shutouts, was a second team All-WCC pick, along with junior forward Juan De Rada and senior midfielder Sean Sears.

Junior defender Ryan Felix, junior defender Jack McCracken and junior forward Dylan Seedman were all named to the honorable mention team while Perez and defender Mark Dotseth earned selection to the All-Freshman Team.

The nine total All-WCC selections is the most ever for LMU, which has twice had eight players selected between the first, second and honorable mention teams. In addition, the three first team picks is also the most ever as the Lions have twice had two first team honorees. This marks the third consecutive year that the Lions have placed two rookies on the 11-member All-Freshman Team. Blanchette and Pedro Velazquez earned that honor one year ago while McFarlin and Seedman made the list in 2011.

This marks the third All-WCC honor for McFarlin, who was an honorable mention selection as both a freshman and sophomore. The junior co-captain leads the WCC in assists (10) while also contributing four goals for 18 points. Nitti earns his second consecutive All-WCC honor as he helped anchor an LMU back line that earned seven shutouts and a WCC-low 0.85 goals against average. Perez led the Lions in scoring (10g) and points (25), while ranking second in the WCC in both categories for his first All-WCC selection.

Sears is the fourth Lion to earn multiple All-WCC honors as he was an honorable mention selection last fall.

In the postseason now for the sixth time in program history, LMU opens NCAA Tournament action on Thursday, Nov. 21 for a first-round match-up at Stanford. Kick off at the Cardinal's Laird Q. Cagan Stadium is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Coach of the Year: Paul Krumpe, Loyola Marymount
Player of the Year: Nick Hamer, Gonzaga
Defender of the Year: Josh Phillips, Gonzaga
Goalkeeper of the Year: Paul Blanchette, Loyola Marymount
Freshman of the Year: Eddie Sanchez, Portland

2013 All-WCC First Team
Name, Yr., Pos., School
Connor Brandt, Jr., F, San Diego
Robert Conner, Jr., D, Saint Mary's
Nick Hamer, Sr., M, Gonzaga
Vegard Karlsen, Sr., M, San Francisco
John McFarlin, Jr., M, Loyola Marymount
Carlos Montes, Sr., M, Santa Clara
Craig Nitti, Jr., D, Loyola Marymount
Adrien Perez, Fr., M, Loyola Marymount
Josh Phillips, Sr., D, Gonzaga
Julian Ringhof, Sr., D, San Diego
Eddie Sanchez, Fr., M/F, Portland

2013 All-WCC Second Team
Name, Yr., Pos., School

Miguel Aguilar, Jr., F, San Francisco
Paul Blanchette, So., GK Loyola Marymount
Ryan Caballero, Sr., GK, Gonzaga
Matthew Coffey, Fr., M, Portland
Mark Daus, Sr., D, Santa Clara
Torrey DeArmas, So., M, San Diego
Juan De Rada, Jr., M, Loyola Marymount
Mauricio Diaz De Leon, Sr., M, San Francisco
Harrison Hanley, Sr., M/F, Santa Clara
Clark Phillips, Jr., F, Gonzaga
Sean Sears, Sr., M, Loyola Marymount

2013 WCC Honorable Mention Selections
Derek Boggs, Portland; Alex Braman, Saint Mary's; Conner Bevans, Gonzaga; Greg Carter, Gonzaga; Michael D'Arrigo, San Diego; Ryan Felix, Loyola Marymount; Connor Gaal, San Francisco; Justin Howard, Saint Mary's; Liam Kelly, San Francisco; Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, San Diego; Lars Ludwigs, Gonzaga; Jack McCracken, Loyola Marymount; Kendall McIntosh, Santa Clara; Hugo Rhodes, Portland; Dylan Seedman, Loyola Marymount; Michael Semenza, Saint Mary's; Joshua Smith, San Francisco; Keegan Smith, San Diego

2013 All-Freshman Team
Name, Pos., School

Alex Braman, D, Saint Mary's
Edson Cardona, F/M, Santa Clara
Matthew Coffey, M, Portland
Christian De Luna, D, San Francisco
Mark Dotseth, D, Loyola Marymount
Connor Gaal, GK, San Francisco
Jakob Granlund, F, Gonzaga
Parker Holland, M, Santa Clara
Adrien Perez, M, Loyola Marymount
Eddie Sanchez, M/F, Portland
Michael Turner, M, San Diego

- #LMULions -


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA