Lions Equal Highest Program Finish at WCC Championships

April 25, 2004

Santa Clara, Calif. - Fourth-seeded Loyola Marymount men's tennis defeated third-seeded Santa Clara 4-2 in the battle for third place at the West Coast Conference Championships Sunday at Santa Clara. The Lions took the doubles points and went on to take four of six first sets in singles from the host Broncos en route to the third place conference finish.

The third place title equals LMU's highest program finish at the men's championships, as the Lions also finished third in both 2002 and 1990.

Michael Wojnarowicz and Matt Phillips earned the first doubles win for the Lions, defeating SCU's Hidalgo and Kochanski 8-6. Beau Berglund and Carlos Malet teamed for the Lions' second doubles win, defeating Santa Clara's Taylor Bedilion and Kevin McQuaid in a 9-8 (5) battle.

LMU's Nico Terrien, Wojnarowicz, Berglund, and Phillips each claimed the first sets of their singles matches, as LMU entered singles with the 1-0 lead. Terrien closed out the straight set win at the No. 2 spot, defeating Erich Chen 6-3, 6-3. Wojnarowicz also earned a straight set win over McQuaid at the No. 3 spot 6-2, 6-4.

Needing just one more singles match to take third place in the WCC, it came down to Berglund and Phillips' matches. Phillips had taken the first set 6-4, but dropped the second set 5-7. The freshman went up 4-3 in the third and was able to close out the win 6-4 to secure the conference's third place standing for the young Lions' squad.

With a 4-2 score, Berglund's result was no longer needed, and the junior did not finish his match per WCC guidelines.

After starting the 2004 season 3-5, LMU won 12 of its final 15 matches to finish 15-9 on the season.


1. Wojnarowicz/Phillips (LMU) def. Hidalgo/Kochanski (SCU) 8-6
2. Berglund/Malet (LMU) def. Bedilion/McQuaid (SCU) 9-8 (5)
3. Chen/Zepponi (SCU) def. Terrien/Politanoff (LMU) 9-8 (4)



1. Taylor Bedilion (SCU) def. Linas Cicenas (LMU) 6-2, 4-6, 6-0
2. Nico Terrien (LMU) def. Erich Chen (SCU) 6-3, 6-3
3. Michael Wojnarowicz (LMU) def. Kevin McQuaid (SCU) 6-2, 6-4
4. Francisco Zepponi (SCU) vs. Beau Berglund (LMU) DNF
5. Matt Phillips (LMU) def. Bobby Rasmussen (SCU)6-4, 5-7, 6-4
6. Eric Kochanski (SCU) def. Ashton Politanoff (LMU) 6-1, 7-5



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago