Rivera, Smith All-WCC Singles Players, Boyce Lauded in Doubles

Cristobal Rivera was named second team All-WCC in singles and doubles.
April 27, 2016

Complete WCC Release

As it prepares for a first-round match with #61 Pepperdine on Thursday at the 2016 West Coast Conference Championships, #69 LMU men’s tennis received the news that three of its players have been named All-Conference players.

Cristobal Rivera and Errol Smith both earned spots on the second team All-WCC singles squad, while Rivera teamed with Charles Boyce to earn second team doubles honors.

Rivera, an honorable mention All-WCC singles player in 2014, has gone 20-12 overall in singles play this year, including 10-8 in dual matches. The native of Santa Monica, Calif. is 5-2 in WCC play, and has played three matches at #1 singles and eight at #2 singles, going 5-2 at the second spot in the order. The lone senior on this year’s squad has also played to a 4-3 mark at #3 singles this year.

Smith, who earned LMU’s second WCC Freshman of the Year selection last year, has gone 18-15 overall in singles play, including 7-2 against conference foes. Competing toward the top of the lineup, Smith has gone 7-6 at #2 singles and 5-3 at #3 singles.

Rivera and Boyce have followed up a 2015 honorable mention All-WCC doubles campaign by going 11-7 in 2016. The duo is 5-3 in WCC play, and is 11-3 when competing at #2 doubles.

The Lions, carrying the #6 seed, will open the WCC Championship tournament on Thursday at 10 a.m. when they play third-seed Pepperdine.

2016 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Sem Verbeek, Pacific
Freshman of the Year: Robert Seby, Santa Clara
Coach of the Year: Ryan Redondo, Pacific



All-WCC First Team Singles
Sem Verbeek, Pacific
Michail Pervolarakis, Portland
Guilherme Hadlich, Pepperdine
Jordan Angus, San Diego
Uros Petronijevic, San Diego
Filip Vittek, San Diego

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Shane Monroe, Brigham Young
Cristobal Rivera, Loyola Marymount
Errol Smith, Loyola Marymount
Lautaro Pane, Pepperdine
Nils Skajaa, San Francisco
Ashot Khacharyan Santa Clara

Singles Honorable Mention
Keaton Cullimore, Brigham Young; Andrey Goryachkov, Brigham Young; Mathieu Garcia, Portland; Pierre Garcia, Portland; Robert Seby, Santa Clara

All-WCC First-Team Doubles
Sem Verbeek and Jose Chamba, Pacific
Michail Pervolarakis and Mathieu Garcia, Portland
Uros Petronijevic and Filip Vittek, San Diego

All-WCC Second-Team Doubles
Cristobal Rivera and Charles Boyce, Loyola Marymount
Jordan Angus and Josh Page, San Diego
Nils Skajaa and Vasco Valverde, San Francisco

Doubles Honorable Mention
Guilherme Hadlich and Gabriel Sidney, Pepperdine; Lautaro Pane and Pedro Iamachkine, Pepperdine; Robert Seby and Connor Garnett, Santa Clara


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago