Women's Basketball

Murray Named WCC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Kate Murray is the 2004 WCC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
Kate Murray is the 2004 WCC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

June 10, 2004

San Bruno, Calif. - Loyola Marymount's Kate Murray was named the West Coast Conference's Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, WCC Commissioner Michael Gilleran announced today. Murray becomes the fifth LMU student-athlete to receive the selection in the last seven years.

The scholar-athlete recognition, the highest honor in the WCC, is selected by a vote of the WCC's institutional representatives to recognize the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics and community service by individuals who have completed their WCC eligibility.

Murray is the third female athlete from LMU, and the second LMU women's basketball player, to receive WCC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors. Since 1998, four other Lions have been named to conference's top scholar-athlete: Jeff Kovar (2003, soccer), Michael Cortez (2001, cross country), Clemens Philippi (1999, soccer), and Tracy Holman (1998, volleyball).

Murray wrapped up a five-year career at Loyola Marymount by leading the Lions to numerous program records and firsts. The guard/forward became the first Lion to earn WCC Women's Basketball Player of the Year honors, leading the squad to its first conference title and first NCAA tournament appearance, while the Lions also notched a program-best 24 wins. The Tigard, Oreg., native became the first female to win both the LMU Athlete and LMU Student-Athlete of the Year awards.

Murray's excellence on the court was matched by her dedication in the classroom. She was named to the Dean's List each semester, was a three-time All-Academic WCC first-team member, and was a Verizon All-District 8 Academic First-team selection.

Murray earned a 3.87 cumulative grade point average in LMU's Master of Business Administration program, after graduating Magna Cum Laude with an undergraduate degree in business in 2003.

During her time at LMU, Murray was honored with several awards for her involvement on campus and in the community including the Loughran Service and Leadership Award, Excellence in Management Award, Entrepreneurial Fellow Award in 2003. She served as president of LMU's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)for two years. Murray also spent time mentoring elementary school students in the community.

Murray shares the WCC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor with Portland women's soccer player Imani Dorsey, while Gonzaga men's basketball player Blake Stepp earned the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

After celebrating her graduate school commencement, Murray returned to her native Oregon to begin an internship in the Nike Adrenalin Program.





LMU Women's Basketball HOME
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article