Women's Soccer, Volleyball Earn All-Sports Trophies

July 13, 2016

Honored for seasons that culminated in Sweet Sixteen runs, LMU women's soccer and volleyball have been awarded 2015-16 DI-AAA Athletics Directors All-Sports Trophies.

The overall trophy was awarded to the University of Denver. For the fourth year in a row, Denver was the top-ranked Division I-AAA institution in the Learfield Directors' Cup standings. The Pioneers have captured the title eight of the last nine years. Denver tallied 433.00 total points.

"This was an exceptional year for Denver, and we are honored to present them with the DI-AAA ADA All-Sports Trophy," said incoming DI-AAA ADA President Troy Austin. "The parity in college athletics today creates a challenging environment. To excel across the board like Denver did this past year is no small feat. I commend Peg Bradley-Doppes for her leadership in building a comprehensively competitive athletics department. We congratulate the University of Denver on their success and are happy to recognize the efforts of their student-athletes, coaches and administrators."

Rounding out the top-five in Division I were UC Santa Barbara in second with 282.75 points, Gonzaga and Wichita State tied for third with 180.00 points, and in fifth, Boston University with 175.00 points.

For a complete list of every All-Sport Trophy winner, please Click Here.

The 2015 LMU volleyball team made its second NCAA Sweet Sixteen in 2015, marking the third trip in the last four years for the Lions, and the 13th overall in program history. Tom Black's 2015 squad finished the year 24-9 overall and 13-5 in the WCC to earn a share of third place. In arguably the biggest win in LMU history, LMU, which was one of four WCC teams to make the tournament, swept #6 Stanford on the road to advance to the Sweet 16 - the highest-ranked opponent to ever fall to the Lions. Following the tremendous year, LMU saw three of its players honored by the AVCA, including Sarah Sponcil being named an AVCA honorable mention All-American. While Sponcil was also named AVCA All-Region, seniors Hannah Tedrow and Rachelle Suaava earned honorable mention All-Region nods. The trio also garnered All-WCC honors, with Sponcil and Tedrow taking home first team selections.

The 2015 season was a banner year for women's soccer and head coach Michelle Myers. Myers led the Lions to a record-setting season, capped by an NCAA Sweet Sixteen berth and the first WCC Coach of the Year honor for the program. The Lions finished 15-6-1 overall and 7-2-0 in the WCC, good for second place. The team set a plethora of program records including total wins (15) and WCC wins (7), to go along with a perfect 10-0-0 record at Sullivan Field and the program's third-ever NCAA Tournament appearance. Seniors Jocelyn Blankenship and Callie Taylor earned First Team National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-West Region honors while Morgan Hilby was named to the region's Second Team.

Now in its 16th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 98 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 52nd year.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago