Lions Continue To Gather Leadership Awards

April 14, 2003

Los Angeles, CA (April 14) - End of the year awards continue to pile up for Loyola Marymount University student-athletes as 12 were honored at the annual Student Service and Leadership Awards Convocation held on Friday, April 11.

Leading the list were seniors Jeff Kovar and Laura Gustorf, who were selected as the Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year. The honor is awarded by the Division of Student Affairs for outstanding achievement on and off the field of play. Kovar was a 2002 Academic All-American and a three-time All-Conference selection. Gustorf, a team captain for the Lions, is a three-time All-Academic selection in the West Coast Conference.

Also awarded were the service and leadership awards for each school year. Freshmen received the Sr. Peg Dolan, R.S.H.M. Award, sophomores earn the Dr. Renee L. Harrangue Award, juniors earn the Fr. Alfred Klip, S.J. Award and seniors receive the Sr. Raymunde McKay, R.S.H.M. Award. There were 11 student-athletes who earned these awards.

Three freshmen claimed the Dolan Awards. Men's basketball center Chris Ayer, women's basketball forward Jevay Grooms and baseball's James Cooper were three of the nine freshman honored this year.

Softball's Danielle Kaminaka and cross country's Bernie Ochoa were honored with the Harrangue Award.

Baseball's Jonathan Higashi, volleyball's Kealani Kimball and Raelen Self from the women's basketball team were honored with the Klip award.

Kovar continued to add to his list of achievements as he earned the McKay award. Joining him were Kate Murray of the women's basketball team and Arturo Torres of the men's soccer team.

The awards are given for outstanding achievement in leadership and service while succeeding academically.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago