Fischer Named PCSC Coastal Division Player of the Year

Sam Fischer earned her fourth All-PCSC first team honor.

May 12, 2012

LOS ANGELES - Senior shortstop Sam Fischer earned her second Pacific Coast Softball Conference Coastal Division Player of the Year honor and was joined by three Lion teammates as the league announced its 2012 All-Conference teams Saturday.

Fischer was named to the Coastal Division First Team for the fourth consecutive year and was the lone unanimous selection on the 2012 squad. Classmate Kelly Sarginson and junior Dana Waldusky were named to the second team while junior Olivia Alvarez earned honorable mention honors.

Fischer, who earned co-Coastal Division Player of the Year accolades in 2010, produced one of the most prolific years at the plate in PCSC and LMU history. The Simi Valley, Calif., native finished the year hitting .492 with 23 home runs and 59 RBIs - setting new conference and school single-season marks for batting average and home runs and tying the single-season RBI record. Her .492 average currently leads the nation, and will more than likely finish atop the national rankings at the conclusion of postseason play. The 23 home runs also ranks second in the country. She finished her career setting nine PCSC career records, sitting atop the career charts for batting average (.387); home runs (65); doubles (51); RBI (172); runs scored (184); total bases (494); slugging percentage (.784); on-base average (.494); and walks (127). She also finished third on the PCSC career hit list with 244.

Sarginson capped her collegiate career by earning her fourth consecutive second team selection. The first baseman who hails from Walnut Creek, Calif., hit .271 for the season with 43 RBIs. She hit 11 home runs on the year, bringing her career total to 42. She had eight multi-hit games and knocked in four RBIs three times.

Waldusky earned her first All-PCSC honor after closing out her junior year on a strong note. The Glendora, Calif., native went 15-10 on the year with a 3.35 ERA. She struck out 84 while issuing just 16 walks. In 20 starts, and 34 total appearances, Waldusky tossed 10 complete games and recorded six shutouts, including three in PCSC play. In league play, her ERA dropped to just 1.88, fourth best in the PCSC, while her seven wins tied for second.



Alvarez, who struggled with injuries early in the season, came alive late, batting .339 with two doubles, two triples, three home runs and 20 RBIs in 20 PCSC games. The honorable mention selection is the second straight for the Torrance, Calif., native.


PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Jessica Lemmon (JR), Saint Mary's
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Adrianna Cardoza (2B), CSU Bakersfield
COACH OF THE YEAR: Jessica Hanaseth, Saint Mary's

First Team
C - Taylor Hensley (SR, San Diego) ***
1B - Alyssa Nakken (SR, Sacramento State)
2B - Jessica Tieszen (SR, San Diego)
3B - Emily McCormick (JR, Sacramento State) **
SS - Sam Fischer (SR, LMU) ***!
OF - Nicole Arce (SR, Saint Mary's)
OF - Lauren Tomey (JR, San Diego)
OF - Briana Knight (SR, Santa Clara) **
UTL - Karissa Veiga (SO, CSU Bakersfield)
P - Jessica Lemmon (JR, Saint Mary's)
P - Jenny Lahitte (SO, San Diego)

Second Team
C - Marissa Navarro (SR, Sacramento State>
1B - Kelly Sarginson (SR, LMU)
2B - Adrianna Cardoza (FR, CSU Bakersfield)
3B - Amy Ricciardi (SO, CSU Bakersfield)
SS - Rebecca Sabatini (SR, Saint Mary's)
OF - Michelle Mounts (SR, Saint Mary's)
OF - Kelli Frye (JR, Sacramento State)
OF - Brittany Sabatini (SO, Saint Mary's)
UTL - Stephanie Fisher (SO, Santa Clara)
P - Cassidy Coleman (SO, San Diego)
P - Dana Waldusky (JR, LMU

Honorable Mention: Olivia Alvarez (JR, C), LMU; Devin Caldwell (SO, 2B), Sacramento State; Shay Fryer (SO, SS), CSU Bakersfield; Kayla Gonzales (SR, 2B), Saint Mary's; Alyssa Jepsen (JR, SS), Santa Clara; Chloe Kaneko (FR, 3B), San Diego; Britany Linton (SR, P), Saint Mary's; Sara Smith (SR, 1B), CSU Bakersfield; Christine Torrise (SO, UTL), Saint Mary's.

* - Number of first-team selections
! - Unanimous choice



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA