LMU Softball Is Postseason Bound, Team Earns 2018 NISC Selection

May 13, 2018

NISC REGION 1 BRACKET Get Acrobat Reader

Fort Collins, Colo. – The Loyola Marymount softball team has earned a selection to the 2018 National Invitational Softball Championships, the NISC selection committee announced today. This marks the second year of the tournament, which features 17 teams including eight that have won 30 games or more during the 2018 season and six teams that finished second or better during the regular season in their respective conferences.

The 2018 NISC will be LMU softball’s first postseason action since 2007 when the program won the PCSC Championship and earned the automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. The Lions won their first game in the 2007 NCAA Tournament, gaining their first postseason victory as they eliminated the 11-time national champions, UCLA.

First-round regional action begins Wednesday, May 16 – regional hosts are Northern Colorado, UNLV, Eastern Kentucky and Central Arkansas. Each double-elimination regional concludes play on either Friday, May 18 or Saturday, May 19. The Championship round, also double-elimination, is slated to begin Wednesday, May 23 at a host site to be determined.

Loyola Marymount will play its first NISC game against Northern Colorado at the Bears’ home field in Greely, Colo., at 5 p.m. PT (6 p.m. MT, the game’s local time) on Wednesday, May 23.

Here’s the full list of qualifiers for the NISC:

Austin Peay (Ohio Valley) – At Large
Central Arkansas (Southland) – At Large
Colorado State (Mountain West) – At Large
Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley) – Automatic Qualifier
Loyola Marymount (West Coast Conference) – Automatic Qualifier
Nevada (Mountain West) – Automatic Qualifier
Northern Colorado (Big Sky) – At Large
Stephen F. Austin (Southland) – Automatic Qualifier
South Dakota State (Summit League) – Automatic Qualifier
Texas Tech (Big 12) – Automatic Qualifier
Toledo (Mid-America) – Automatic Qualifier
Towson (Colonial Athletic) – Automatic Qualifier
UC Riverside (Big West) – Automatic Qualifier
UNLV (Mountain West) – At Large
UT Arlington (Sun Belt) – Automatic Qualifier
Utah Valley (WAC) – Automatic Qualifier
Weber State (Big Sky) – Automatic Qualifier

Each of the 12 automatic qualifiers are the teams who finished the best regular-season record in their respective conference and are not playing in the NCAA Tournament. The five at large selections were selected off their body of work. Teams are selected to regions based on travel considerations first and then seeded by NCAA RPI (as of May 13).

Here are the matchups for the first round, the Northern Colorado and UNLV regions begin play on Wednesday, May 16, while the Eastern Kentucky and Central Arkansas regions will start on Thursday, May 17 (all times Eastern). Home team listed second; based on RPI.

Region 1: Greeley, CO (Northern Colorado Hosts)
South Dakota State (32-16) at Colorado State (26-21), 5 p.m. ET
Northern Colorado (28-26) at Loyola Marymount (28-23-1), 5 p.m. PT

Region 2: Las Vegas, NV (UNLV Hosts)
Weber State (27-24) at Nevada (25-25), 3 p.m. ET
Utah Valley (21-29) at UC Riverside (33-22), 6 p.m. ET
Weber State/Nevada at UNLV (31-18), 9 p.m. ET

Region 3: Richmond, KY (Eastern Kentucky Hosts)
Towson (40-17) at Austin Peay (39-17), 3 p.m. ET
Toledo (34-21) at Eastern Kentucky (40-18), 6 p.m. ET

Region 4: Conway, AR (Central Arkansas Hosts)
Stephen F. Austin (31-22) at Texas Tech (29-26), 4 p.m. ET
Central Arkansas (27-25) at UT Arlington (27-26), 7 p.m. ET

Click on the link at the top of the page to see the bracket for LMU and Region 1.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago