Fischer Earns Invite to 2012 USA Softball Women's National Team Selection Camp

Sam Fischer

May 25, 2012

LOS ANGELES - LMU senior shortstop Sam Fischer has been named one of 21 athletes invited to the 2012 USA Softball Women's National Team Selection Camp, to be held in Ashland, Ohio, June 10-12.

In January, 12 athletes were named to the National Team roster, while these 21 additional attendees will vie for the remaining five spots on the 2012 USA Softball Women's National Team roster, which will be announced on Wednesday, June 13. The remaining athletes who are not selected to the Women's National Team will make up the 2012 USA Softball Women's Elite National Team and will face the National Team in exhibition play.

"This is unreal," said Fischer of the invitation. "To know that my childhood dream isn't just a dream but a reality is so rewarding. Getting a chance to represent my country through my sport is so exciting. I feel so lucky and so humbled by this opportunity. I just want to get out there and play!"

Fischer becomes the first Lion softball player to earn an invitation to try out for the National Team.

"She is among the very best athletes to ever come out of LMU and arguably the best hitter in the country and the only person who can get her out is herself," said LMU head coach Gary Ferrin. "I'm excited that she has earned this recognition and it speaks volumes for the direction our program is moving as well."

The Simi Valley, Calif., native finished the year hitting .492 with 23 home runs and 59 RBIs - setting new Pacific Coast Softball Conference and school single-season marks for batting average and home runs and tying the single-season RBI record. Her .492 average currently leads the nation, and will more than likely finish atop the national rankings at the conclusion of postseason play. She also currently ranks first in on-base percentage (.665), second in both walks per game (1.15) and slugging percentage (1.156), third in runs per game (1.21) and fourth in home runs (23).



Fischer earned her second PCSC Coastal Division Player of the Year honor and was one the lone unanimous selection to the 2012 All-PCSC Coastal Division first team - her fourth consecutive first team honor. She was also most recently named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-West Region second team - the first such honor in her four-year career.

She finished her career setting nine PCSC and LMU career records, sitting atop the career charts for batting average (.387); home runs (65); doubles (51); RBI (172); runs scored (184); total bases (494); slugging percentage (.784); on-base average (.494); and walks (127). She also finished third on the PCSC and LMU career hit lists with 244.

The 12 athletes who were named to the 2012 USA Softball Women's National Team in January are Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./Cal, SR), Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif./Arizona State 2009), Lauren Gibson (Pasadena, Md./Tennessee, JR), Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga./Alabama 2009), Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky 2010), Stacy May-Johnson (Reno, Nev./Iowa 2006), Jenae Leles (Sacramento, Calif./Arizona 2009), Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla./Florida, SR), Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif./Oklahoma, JR), Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan 2011), Rhea Taylor (Buford, Ga./Missouri 2011) and Chelsea Thomas (Pleasantville, Iowa/Missouri, JR).

The 21 athletes who have accepted an invitation to try-out for the remaining spots on the Women's National Team and the 2012 USA Softball Women's Elite National Team are Lexy Bennett (Kingwood, Texas/Texas, SR)
Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona State, SR)
Elizabeth Caporuscio (Lake Arrowhead, Calif./Arizona State, FR)
Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./Oklahoma, FR)
Amanda Chidester (Allen Park, Mich./Michigan, SR)
Dallas Escobedo (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State, SO)
Sam Fischer (Simi Valley, Calif./LMU, SR)
Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz./Arizona, JR)
Rebecca Gamby (Mount Victory, Ohio/Marshall, SR)
Jolene Henderson (Elk Grove, Calif./California, JR)
Taylor Hoagland (Flower Mound, Texas/Texas, JR)
Kaitlin Inglesby (Portland, Ore./Washington, SO)
Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif./Oklahoma, SO)
Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M, JR)
Sara Nevins (Pinellas Park, Fla./South Florida, SO)
Christi Orgeron (New Orleans, La./Louisiana Lafayette, SR)
Ellen Renfroe (Jackson, Tenn./Tennessee, SO)
Janine Richardson (Auburndale, Fla./South Florida, SR)
Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif./Tennessee, SO)
Jessica Shults (Valencia, Calif./Oklahoma, JR)
Lindsey Ziegenhirt (Elk Grove, Calif./California, JR)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA