Bush Earns Aloha Spirit Award at Rainbow Wahine Sand Volleyball Invitational

Avery Bush took home the Aloha Spirit Award as the Lions competed in Hawaii.

March 11, 2014

Box Score

LMU vs. Hawaii | LMU vs. Long Beach State | LMU vs. Stanford

Avery Bush took home the Aloha Spirit Award as the Lions competed in Hawaii this last weekend at the Rainbow Wahine Sand Volleyball Invitational at Queen's Beach. The Lions fell short against Hawaii, 5-0, and defending National Champions Long Beach State, 4-1, but did record a 4-1 victory over #10 Stanford in team competition.

During Saturday's bracket play, the duo of Litara Keil and Betsi Metter reached the Quarterfinals. Keil and Metter defeated Alex Reid and Janelle Hudson of LBSU, 21-9, 21-13, to reach the quarters. There, they were defeated by Hawaii's Katie Spieler and Nikki Taylor, 21-18, 21-14.

Complete results for bracket play are below. For team competition results, please click the links at the top of the page.

Best Offense: Janisa Johnson (LBSU)

Best Defense: Katie Spieler (UH)

Best Blocking: Carissa Cook (UH)

Aloha Spirit award: Avery Bush (LMU)

Championship Bracket (single elimination)

Preliminary Round

Karlee Riggs/Hannah Rooks (UH) def. Avery Bush/Taylor Akana (LMU) 21-12, 21-15

Ali Longo/Ginger Long (UH) def. Kuulei Lynch/Darcie Horiuchi 21-5, 21-6

Kyle Gilbert/Britanny Howard (STAN) def. Kylee Pedro/Reigna Johnson (CU) 21-13, 21-8



Alex Reid/Janelle Hudson (LBSU) def. Morgan Boukather/Grace Kennedy (STAN) 21-9, 21-13

Olivia Urban/London Chow (UH) def. Anne Marie Taylor/Hannah Tedrow (LMU) 21-14, 21-17

Ciana Wagner/Morea Wagner (LBSU) def. Kelsey Humphreys/Inky Ajanaku (STAN) 24-22, 21-11

Caitlin Dewitt/Ashley Maxfeldt (LMU) def. Kim Spring Valentina Bevilacqua (CU) 21-19, 10-21, 22-20

Chelsea Cabrajac/Bre Mackie (LBSU) def. Athena Maskarich/Cassie Rushlow (CU) 21-8, 21-16

Round of 16

Katie Spieler/Nikki Taylor (UH) def. Kyle Gilbert/Britanny Howard (STAN), 21-13, 21-10

Karlee Riggs/Hannah Rooks (UH) def. Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Bojana Todorvic (LBSU) 32-30,13-21, 23-21

Ali Longo/Ginger Long (UH) def. Lauren Birks/Carly Wopat (STAN), 21-16, 22-20

Betsi Metter/Litara Keil (LMU) def. Alex Reid/Janelle Hudson (LBSU) 21-9, 21-13

Brittany Tiegs/Karissa Cook (UH) def. Ciana Wagner/Morea Wagner (LBSU) 21-10, 21-13

Chelsea Cabrajac/Bre Mackie (LBSU) def. Rachelle Suaava/Kathleen Luft (LMU) 21-13, 21-13

Janisa Johnson/Tyler Jackson (LBSU) def. Caitlin Dewitt/Ashley Maxfeldt (LMU) 21-9, 21-8

Olivia Urban/London Chow (UH) def. Jordan Burgess/Madi Bugg (STAN) 21-19, 21-19


Katie Spieler/Nikki Taylor (UH) def. Betsi Metter/Litara Keil (LMU), 21-18, 21-14

Ali Longo/Ginger Long (UH) def. Hannah Rooks/Karlee Riggs (UH), 21-18, 18-21, 15-9

Brittany Tiegs/Karissa Cook (UH) def. Chelsea Cabrajac/Bre Mackie (LBSU), 21-10, 21-7

Janisa Johnson/Tyler Jackson (LBSU) def. Olivia Urban/London Chow (UH), 21-18, 21-15


Katie Spieler/Nikki Taylor (UH) def. Ali Longo/Ginger Long (UH), 21-14, 21-16

Brittany Tiegs/Karissa Cook (UH)def. Janisa Johnson/Tyler Jackson (LBSU), 27-25, 21-17


Brittany Tiegs/Karissa Cook (UH) Katie Spieler/Nikki Taylor (UH), 21-14, 21-19


Morgan Boukather/Grace Kennedy (STAN) def. Kuulei Lynch/Darcie Horiuchi, 21-14, 21-17

Avery Bush/Taylor Akana (LMU) def. Kylee Pedro/Reigna Johnson (CU) 21-10, 21-6

Anne Marie Taylor/Hannah Tedrow (LMU) vs. Athena Maskarich/Cassie Rushlow (CU), 21-16, 23-21

Kelsey Humphreys/Inky Ajanaku (STAN) vs. Kim Spring Valentina Bevilacqua (CU), 15-21, 21-23, 15-10

Sixes Mini-Tournament

Tayler Higgins/Mikayla Tucker (UH) def. Taylor Soscia/Alyssa Walton (LMU) 21-13, 21-5

Joy Miley/Makayla Taylor (LBSU) def. Megan McGehee/Grace Kennedy (STAN) 17-21, 21-17, 15-5

Tayler Higgins/Mikayla Tucker (UH) def. Joy Miley/Makayla Taylor (LBSU), 21-14, 21-17

Taylor Soscia/Alyssa Walton (LMU) def. Megan McGehee/Grace Kennedy (STAN), 21-11, 20-22, 15-11


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago