LMU Finishes Third at 2016 PCSC Championships

The 2016 senior class helped LMU to a third-place finish at the PCSC Championships.
Feb. 16, 2016

2016 PCSC Championship Results Get Acrobat Reader

In addition to placing a pair of swimmers in the top-eight of the 1650 freestyle, LMU sent 13 swimmers into evening finals on Monday during the final day of the 2016 Pacific Collegiate Swim Conference Championships. With a solid final day, LMU finished third overall in the team standings. UC San Diego ran away with the meet, scoring 1573.5 points, followed by Cal State East Bay (1096.5), the Lions (1028.5) and Pepperdine (983.5) to close the top-four.

Junior standout Hannah Calton nearly won the 200 butterfly final, but came up two one-hundredths of a second short of UCSD’s Dari Watkins. Watkins turned in a time of 2:01.33, with Calton registering a 2:01.35. Watkins had qualified two seconds ahead of Calton after the preliminaries, but LMU’s record holder in the event came back and battled to the nail-biting finish in the Championship Final.

Stephanie Horwitz and freshman Lauren Akin finished 6-7 in the 1650 freestyle, with Horwitz registering a time of 17:39.33 to claim 24 points in the team standings. Akin followed shortly thereafter, stopping the clock at 17:42.33 – the seventh-fastest time in LMU history. Finishing just outside of the top-10, but still earning 16 valuable points, was freshman Keara Reilly with a time of 17:59.67 to place 11th. LMU’s final swimmer in the event, Maddie Lipkowitz, took 15th overall in 18:34.36.

Four LMU swimmers made the evening finals in the 200 backstroke, including Stacy Maier qualifying for the Championship Final with a time of 2:07.33 in the prelims. She bested that mark even further in the final, registering a 2:07.04 to take sixth. Senior Sofia Abrate won the B final with a personal-best time of 2:08.31, while junior Lia Jorgensen placed third in the B final (11th overall) with a time of 2:09.96 – nearly a two second drop from her prelim time. Nicole Schiel was the final Lion in the event, turning in a time of 2:22.48 in the C final.

Seniors Kristen Brennand and Kristen Clarno swam the 100 freestyle for the final time in their careers, and the duo made the most of the opportunity, going 3-4 for the Lions. Brennand took third in 51.28, followed by Clarno at 51.42. Brennand’s time is tied for the sixth-fastest in LMU history, while Clarno now ranks eighth all-time. Isabel Willis placed 14th overall in the event (sixth in B final) with a personal-best time of 53.29, while freshman Marley Abbott placed third in the C final in a personal-best 53.34. Tori Yee was the fifth and final Lion to swim in the evening final for the 100 freestyle, taking fourth in the Bonus final with a mark of 54.58 – also a personal-best mark.

A trio of Lions earned spots in the 200 breaststroke finals, with Kailee Mora earning seventh place in the Championship Final with a time of 2:23.49. She had previously swam a 2:23.14 in the afternoon prelims to earn a spot in the final. After sophomore Amanda Miller qualified for the B final with a time of 2:32.71, freshman Mary Schell won the C final by shaving five seconds off her prelim time, ultimately finishing with a mark of 2:33.27.

UCSD, which had a tremendous overall meet, finished the 2016 Championships in record style, breaking LMU’s existing conference record in the 400 freestyle relay. The Tritons registered a time of 3:23.10 to surpass LMU’s previous mark of 3:23.20 set in 2010. The current Lions, made up of seniors Brennand and Clarno, Calton and freshman Willis, took second in the race, stopping the clock at 3:26.44.

All-PCSC selections and Championship Awards will be announced shortly, and will be added to this release when available.

For complete coverage of the 2016 PCSC Championship Meet, please visit:
2016 PCSC Championship Results




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago