Lions Finish Sixth at PCSC Championships

Feb. 17, 2018

2018 PCSC Day 4 Get Acrobat Reader

Finishing competition at the 2018 PCSC Championships on Saturday in La Mirada, Calif., LMU swimming placed sixth overall in the women's competition that was contested at Splash! Regional Aquatics Center.

UC San Diego won the PCSC Championship on both the men's and women's side, with the UCSD women totaling 1,620.5 points, followed by Fresno Pacific (1319), Cal State East Bay (1,114), Azusa Pacific (904) and Pepperdine (708.5).

LMU showed very well in the 100 IM on the final day of competition, as Abby Chopp and Alyce-Faye Eichelberger reached the A Final. Chopp, who would also win the C Final of the 200 backstroke in 2:07.35 to move into 10th on the LMU all-time list, took fourth overall in 59.12, while Eichelberger turned in a time of 59.18 to take fifth. Marley Abbott won the B Final of the 100 IM, placing ninth overall in 59.90, followed shortly thereafter by Tori Yee at 1:00.49 to earn 11th.

Taylor Anderson handed LMU its second B Final victory, earning the ninth overall spot in the 100 freestyle with a mark of 52.09. Isabel Willis also swam in the B Final, posting a time of 52.82 to take 13th overall. Two more Lions represented LMU in the C Final of the 100 freestyle, as Caitlin Ryan and Anna Gasiorowski took 21st and 23rd overall. Both swimmers managed faster times in the prelims when compared to the finals, with Ryan posting a mark of 53.77 and Gasiorowski stopping the clock at 54.21. The final two swimmers to reach an evening final in the 100 freestyle were Natalie Morlock and Farah Stack, as the duo competed in the D Final. Morlock posted a time of 54.74 to take 26th overall, while Stack swam a 54.68 in the prelims before earning 29th overall in 54.95.

LMU sent two swimmers into the 1650 freestyle event, with Keara Reilly taking 13th overall in 17:48.72, followed by Lauren Akin in 16th at 17:59.94.

Three other Lions competed in B Finals on Saturday, with Olivia Nielsen taking second in the 200 butterfly (10th overall) in 2:09.34. Audrey Hixon claimed 13th overall in the 200 backstroke after swimming a 2:09.89 in the prelim and a 2:10.20 in the final. Taylor Pajunen rounded out the B Finalists, earning 15th overall in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:11.03.

Mary Schell and Christine Chan were the final Lions to make an appearance in a final, competing in C Finals in the 200 breaststroke and 200 butterfly, respectively. Schell earned 24th overall in a time of 2:30.11, while Chan finished 19th in 2:13.43.

The final event of the Championships was the 400 freestyle relay, where LMU's A relay placed sixth overall in 3:31.94.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago