Lions Wrap Up 2012 MPSF Championships

The LMU senior class finished stellar careers on Saturday.

Feb. 19, 2012

Complete Results

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - LMU swimmers had another good day to wrap up the 2012 MPSF Swimming and Diving Championships that were held at East Los Angeles College Swim Stadium and Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs (diving events) over the last four days.

The Lions started off the evening's finals with three consecutive wins. Senior Tammy Choy and junior Noelani Vargas each won their 200 backstroke races, with Choy taking the Consolation final for ninth place in a 2:03.22 and Vargas the Bonus Consolation for 17th with a lifetime-best of 2:04.60. Choy is the current LMU record holder in the event and Vargas moves into the fifth spot on LMU's All-Time Top Ten list. LMU's other win came from senior Jill Dahle, who made a switch from the 1650 Freestyle event to the shorter 100 freestyle sprint and did herself proud by winning the Bonus Consolation for 17th place with a 52.17. That sliced almost a second off Dahle's previous best time and makes her the seventh-fastest sprinter in LMU history. In addition, Dahle holds the number two spot in the 500 freestyle and number three spots in the 1000 and 1650 freestyle events.

Both of the Lion `milers' (1650 freestyle) posted strong swims. Sophomore Mary Kate Short turned in a 17:35.71, good for 22nd place and senior Terry Rinder ended her collegiate career on a strong note, breaking the 18:00 barrier with a 17:56.19. Short holds the second-fastest time in LMU history and Rinder the fifth.

LMU had three breaststrokers in the 200 event, led by junior Camille Hopp who placed 14th in the evening finals with a 2:20.84. Junior Stephanie Hess and sophomore Katie Rick swam in the Bonus Consolation and placed 20th and 21st, respectively. Rick swam to a lifetime-best in the morning's preliminaries with a 2:25.72 which ranks her seventh on the All-Time Top-10 list. Hopp is second on the list, and Hess is fourth.



In the final individual event of the meet, the 200 butterfly, sophomore Angelina Prat turned in a season-best 2:06.95, good for 19th place while senior Yvonne Le ended her LMU career with a 23rd place finish in the event.

LMU's 400 freestyle relay team of Hopp, Vargas, junior Sophie Allen, and Dahle wrapped up the 2012 Championship by placing seventh in the 400 freestyle relay in a very fast field. Hopp, who began the 2012 competition three days earlier by claiming the LMU program-record in the 50 freestyle, ended it with a stellar 51.97 in the lead-off position, a lifetime best and sixth-fastest in LMU history. Vargas would swim next with a 53.39 split, followed by Allen in 51.71 and Dahle with a 51.65 split to end her collegiate career on a high note.

The evening session began with a tribute to the senior swimmers from the 16 MPSF Conference programs. LMU honored its seven graduating seniors whose contributions have been many:

Christina Cannata - Team captain and All-MPSF Scholar-Athlete Qualified for the finals in both 200 and 400 IM at the 2012 MPSF Championship and holds the fifth-fastest time in LMU history in both events.

Tammy Choy - Team captain and current LMU program record holder in the 200 backstroke and 400 individual medley. Placed seventh in the 100 backstroke at the 2012 MPSF Championship with a lifetime-best time earning Second Team All-MPSF honors. Also place ninth in the 200 backstroke.

Jill Dahle - Team captain and LMU's most versatile freestyle swimmer who placed 13th in the 200 freestyle at the 2012 MPSF Championship and 17th in the 100 freestyle with lifetime-best times in both events. Also has the second fastest 500 freestyle time in LMU history and third fastest time in the 100 and 1650 freestyles. An All-MPSF Scholar Athlete.

Michelle Horgan - An All-MPSF Scholar-Athlete specializing in sprint freestyle and IM events posting lifetime-best times in the 200 IM and 50 freestyle at the 2012 MPSF Championships.

Yvonne Le - An All-MPSF Scholar-Athlete. Qualified for finals in the 200 IM and 200 butterfly at the 2012 MPSF Championships.

Terry Rinder - An All-MPSF Scholar-Athlete specializing in the long-distance freestyle events. Fifth-fastest 1650 freestyle swimmer in LMU history.

Erin Rosas - An All-MPSF Scholar-Athlete specializing in the sprint freestyle events.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA