Lions Swim in 11 Finals to Close MPSF Championships

Senior Rachel Dekar swam in the Championship Final in the 200 breaststroke.

Feb. 22, 2014

LMU Swimming Schedule | LMU Swim on Facebook |
LMU Swim on Instagram

MPSF Championship Final ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

LMU closed the MPSF Championships on Saturday, sending 11 different swimmers into evening finals, including a pair to Championship Finals. Senior Rachel Dekar competed in the 200 breaststroke Championship Final while senior Angelina Prat took to the water in the 200 butterfly.

Dekar finished seventh overall in the 200 breaststroke, turning in a time of 2:19.06 before Prat took sixth in the 200 butterfly in 2:04.33.

Lise Soule had a great swim in the prelims of the 200 butterfly, stopping the clock in 2:06.38 to move into fifth on the LMU All-Time list. She later placed 16th overall while competing in the Consolation Final.

Kristen Clarno and Kjirsten Magnuson also reached Consolation Finals, with Clarno posting a personal-best time of 2:03.07 in the 200 backstroke to claim 10th overall. Magnuson reached the final in the 100 freestyle, finishing 15th overall in 51.98.

The Lions placed a pair of swimmers in the Bonus Finals of the 200 backstroke, 200 breaststroke, and 200 butterfly. Stacy Maier (2:07.19) and Sofia Abrate (2:13.83) swam in the 200 back, while Mary Kate Reid (2:27.19) and Marlena Nip (2:28.45) hit the water in the 200 breaststroke. Elizabeth Murray (2:09.25) and Kathleen Gore (2:14.50) represented the Lions in the 200 butterfly.

Other results from Saturday included Mary Kate Short (17:21.67) and Stephanie Horwitz (17:46.68) swimming in the 1650 freestyle, and LMU's 400 freestyle relay turning in a time of 3:30.13 to place eighth.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago