Calton Sets Another Program Record in Final Day of Arena Invitational

Freshman Hannah Calton set the new LMU program record in the 200 butterfly.

Nov. 24, 2013

Complete Results

Saturday proved to be another big day at the Arena Invitational as freshman Hannah Calton set her second LMU record in as many days, placing second in the 200 butterfly with a 2:02.53. Calton's time sliced .3 seconds off of the LMU program record and qualified her for the US Swimming Winter Nationals in Knoxville, Tenn. in two weeks. Senior Angelina Prat joined Calton in the Championship final and placed fourth in the event with a season-best 2:04.13. Elizabeth Murray and Kathleen Gore both swam season- best times in the non-scoring final placing 29th and 30th.

In the 200 breaststroke, Rachel Dekar placed third with a season- best time of 2:16.96 while sophomore Mary Kate Reid won the non-scoring final by dropping her personal- best time by over a second with a 2:26.15 which moves her onto the LMU All-Time Top-10 list in the ninth position.

Three Lions qualified for the evening finals in the 200 backstroke, led by sophomore Kristen Clarno's 11th-place finish in a season-best time of 2:03.14. Clarno now ranks third on LMU's All-time performance list and within .3 of the LMU program record. Freshman Stacy Maier turned in a personal-best time of 2:06.67 for a 21st-place finish - eighth best in program history. Sofia Abrate was the third finalist in the event, placing 31st. Kjirsten Magunson was the sole finalist in the 100 freestyle, placing 11th with a personal-best time of 51.23, fifth-fastest in LMU history.



LMU's distance duo of senior Mary Kate Short and sophomore Stephanie Horwitz added to the Lions' team point total by placing 15th and 21st in the 1650 freestyle with season-best times of 17:29.96 and 17:42.94. Horwitz's time was a personal-best and fifth-fastest in LMU history while Short owns the second spot.

The Lions wrapped up the three day meet with a 10th-place finish in the 400 freestyle relay. Overall, the Lions placed seventh of 11 teams with 556 points, 3.5 points behind WCC rival Pacific and 22.5 points ahead of San Diego. San Diego State was the overall winner followed by San Jose State and the University of Hawaii.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago