LMU Falls to New Mexico State, 152-105

Dec. 19, 2008

Complete Results

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - LMU dropped a dual meet to New Mexico State at home on Friday by a score of 152-105. Junior Anne Scott once again performed well in the 50 freestyle, taking first place in 24.28 to edge New Mexico's Kelly Conrad at 24.38. Carolyn Pasque won fourth overall in the sprint, touching the wall in 25.23.

New Mexico State got things started right by taking the 200 medley relay in a time of 1:49.10. The Aggies also claimed second before Tammy Choy, Scott, Mallorie Lim and Alicia Witter combined for a time of 1:52.97 to take third.

Liz Thomson easily outdistanced the opposition in the 1,000 freestyle, touching the wall in 10:24.33. LMU's Terry Rinder placed third in 10:48.15, just three seconds behind the second-place finisher in Rachelle Bassen. Freshman Jill Dahle took the final point for LMU in the race, finishing in 10:52.24 to claim sixth overall.

Brittney Moore won the 200 freestyle for NMSU with a time of 1:55.84 before Witter (1:56.93) and Kyla Dahlquist (1:59.71) claimed second and fourth, respectively, for the Lions. Stephanie Peacock, Bonnie Taylor and Tessa Bain made it a clean sweep of the top-three spots in the 100 backstroke before Choy and Lim took fourth and fifth overall with times of 1:00.76 and 1:03.58, in that order.

Once again it was New Mexico State taking the top-three spots in a race, this time guided by Alannah Lawrence's time of 1:06.85 in the 100 breaststroke. Maria Spies (1:06.98) and Kelly Runestrand (1:08.50) followed closely behind in second and third. Melanie Tansuwan and Julia Hall were the top finishers for LMU, claiming times of 1:12.74 and 1:14.21.



The Lions performed well in the 200 butterfly, winning second through fourth in the race. After Victoria Eickerman took first with a time of 2:08.90, Trinity O'Neill (2:10.78), Yvonne Le (2:11.60) and Katie Carmody (2:14.02) finished in order for LMU.

Scott also swam well in the 100 freestyle, placing second overall in a time of 53.73, just one second behind Conrad at 52.72. Witter and Pasque completed a solid race for LMU, finishing third and fourth after turning-in times of 53.81 and 54.58.

New Mexico State placed well in the 200 backstroke, winning first, second and fourth overall. Taylor won the event in 2:07.61, followed by Meghann Percy in second with a time of 2:08.72. Choy was next to finish for LMU, claiming third in 2:10.29 before Eickerman touched in 2:12.04.

Spies led a trio of Aggies in the 200 breaststroke, taking first in 2:20.98. She was followed by Runestrand in second (2:25.12) and Lawrence in third (2:28.46). LMU's best finish went to T. O'Neill with a time of 2:31.43, earning her fourth overall.

Dahle, Rebecca Plume and Hall each competed in the 500 freestyle. Dahle finished the race in 5:18.65, followed by Plume at 5:18.66 and Hall at 5:19.26. Thomson easily won the event with a time of 5:06.22.

The Lions swam strong in the 100 butterfly, claiming second and third in the race. Lim (59.10) finished just behind Eickerman at 58.31 to take second, while Le touched in 59.47 to win third.

Choy was back in the water for the final individual race of the day, the 200 IM. Choy recorded the Lions' second individual victory of the day after posting the fastest time of 2:10.16. T. O'Neill was second to touch for the Lions in 2:12.33, followed by Christina Cannata with a time of 2:20.29.

Pasque, Scott, Megan Sawelson and Witter combined to turn-in the fastest LMU time in the 200 freestyle relay, touching the wall in 1:39.25. New Mexico's "A" relay recorded the fastest overall time in the event after posting a 1:37.94.

LMU returns to action on January 10 when it visits UC San Diego at 11 a.m.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago