LMUat100: LMU Claims 2008 PCSC Championship

A Look Back: Women's swimming wins its first Conference Championship in program history.

Jan. 10, 2012

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Loyola Marymount University celebrates its Centennial in 2011-12, and LMU Athletics will be honoring 100 years of history all season. Each of LMU's NCAA Division I programs will be hosting a Centennial Game to honor LMUat100. Up next is the Centennial swimming meet against UC San Diego this Saturday, January 14. As we approach the meet, today we will take a look back at LMU's 2008 PCSC Championship.

February 16, 2008: From LMULions.com

LMU completed a fantastic four-day PCSC Championship run, culminating in the program's first Conference Title on Saturday night. The Lions collected 1212 total points over the course of the Championship, defeating their nearest opponent, Pepperdine, by 46 points. In addition, 11 Lion swimmers were named to the PCSC All-Conference team, three to the All-Academic team, and Head Coach Bonnie Adair was named PCSC Women's Coach of the Year after the meet.

After taking the Conference crown in the 500 freestyle earlier at the Championships, Rebecca Plume finished second on Saturday in the 1650 freestyle. Her time of 17:16.14 broke the previous LMU record for that event set by Julia Hall last season at 18:01.78. Julia Hall, also racing in the 1650, finished in 11th place overall with a time of 18:05.82, just four seconds off the previous LMU record. Christine Gore rounded-out the top-15 overall, claiming 15th with a time of 18:19.62.

Kristen Lutjen managed a top-5 finish in the 200 backstroke, taking home fifth place in 2:10.42. UC San Diego's Anju Shimura won the event in 2:02.24. Kim McKay joined Lutjen in the finals, with McKay claiming 12th with a time of 2:12.73.



Alicia Witter became the third Lion to claim an individual Conference Title, winning the 100 freestyle to join Plume (500 freestyle) and Wike (50 freestyle) in the elite club. Witter posted a 52.50 in the preliminaries before shaving nearly a second off the time in the finals at 51.80. As it has done throughout the year, LMU placed well in the freestyle event, claiming fourth, fifth, sixth and 13th on top of the first-place finish. Wike (52.62), Megan Sawelson (52.68), Carolyn Pasque (52.96) and Alexa Cook (53.76) finished in those places, respectively. Liz Magura and Danielle Garcia made it seven Lion swimmers in the top-20 in the race, claiming 16th and 17th in 54.33 and 54.12.

The Lions also finished strong in the 200 butterfly, posting swimmers in the third, fourth, eighth, 15th and 19th positions. Melanie Tansuwan led the pack of Lions with a time of 2:07.58 to claim third. Trinity O'Neill touched the wall in 2:08.11 for fourth, Angela Samuels turned in a time of 2:15.47 and McKay hit the wall in 2:16.23, which was good for 15th. Alicia Royal rounded-out the top-20 finishers for LMU, finishing 19th with a time of 2:16.38.

As they did throughout the PCSC Championships, the Lions swam well in the final relay of the event. Faced with the 400 freestyle relay to end the meet, the team of Sawelson, Pasque, Wike and Witter claimed third place with a time of 3:32.23 to seal the LMU Conference Title. Last year's champion, UC San Diego, did win the relay at 3:28.28, but it was the Lions who were cheering when all was said and done.

Following the meet, the PCSC announced the names of All-Conference and All-Academic selections. After posting an LMU-record five swimmers on the All-Conference team last season, the Lions responded by more than doubling that total with an unbelievable 11 swimmers in 2008. Seniors Angela Samuels and Alex Wike, junior Rebecca Plume, sophomores Alexa Cook, Mallorie Lim, Kristen Lutjen, Trinity O'Neill, Megan Sawelson, Melanie Tansuwan and Alicia Witter, and freshman Carolyn Pasque were all named to the prestigious list. Wike was also named to the PCSC All-Academic team, an honor bestowed to junior and senior swimmers with a 3.5 GPA or better. Joining Wike on the list were senior Nicole Alvarado and junior Justine Elgas.

LMU First-Place Finishes at 2008 PCSC Championships:
200 Medley Relay (Alicia Witter, Angela Samuels, Mallorie Lim, Alex Wike) - 1:45.70
500 Freestyle (Rebecca Plume) - 4:56.59
50 Freestyle (Alex Wike) - 23.89
100 Freestyle (Alicia Witter) - 51.80

New LMU Program Records Set During PCSC Championships/Over 2007-08 Campaign:
200 Freestyle (Rebecca Plume) - 1:52.31
500 Freestyle (Rebecca Plume) - 4:56.59
1000 Freestyle (Rebecca Plume) - 10:25.16*
1650 Freestyle (Rebecca Plume) - 17:16.14
200 Freestyle Relay (Alex Wike, Alexa Cook, Carolyn Pasque, Megan Sawelson) - 1:35.76

Nike Invitational
400 Individual Medley (Trinity O'Neill) - 4:33.29

*Record was set on the way out to her 1650, and broke the record she set earlier in the season by over 15 seconds.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago