Four Lions Earn Postseason Honors

Ivana Castro
April 21, 2015

GCC Championships | 2015 GCC Awards | This is LMU Women's Water Polo | LMU on Facebook | LMU on Twitter

LOS ANGELES -- The Golden Coast Conference announced on Tuesday, April 21, the second annual postseason honors for the 2015 season and the only repeat winner on the GCC First-Team is LMU's Ivana Castro.

The junior was one of four Lions to earn postseason honors by the GCC, as voted on by the league's seven head coaches. Join her with Second-Team All-GCC honors is Laura Lopez and Mackenzie Beck. Earning GCC All-Freshman honors is Arianna St. Oegger.

Lopez, Beck and Castro ranked fourth, sixth and seventh within the GCC in goals, scoring 55, 49 and 48 goals, respectively. Castro also ranked 12th in steals with 39 and 11th in assists with 30. Lopez was ranked seventh in the GCC in assists with 35.

Rounding out the seven-member First-Team is Ioli Benekou and Caroline Israels (also Co-Player of the Year) of San Diego State, Ivana Castro of LMU, Hannah Evans of California Baptist, Julia Peters of Santa Clara and Pacific goalie Michele Relton and teammate Anna Kertes (who was the other Co-Player of the Year).

The seven-member Second-Team GCC All-Conference includes Taylor Adair and Gracie Smith of Pacific, Beck and Lopez of LMU, San Diego State's goalie Rachell Mitchell, California Baptist's Mallory Montano and Azusa Pacific's Taylor Whitney.



Rounding out All-Conference and joining Espinar on the Honorable Mention team are Elizabeth Anderson of Santa Clara, goalie Kelsie Harvey of Fresno Pacific, Snique Herman of San Diego St., Emily Marr of Fresno Pacific and goalie Meghan Rowland of California Baptist.

The league also announced its All-Freshman Team for 2015. Earning honors as the future leaders of the GCC are Nikki DeRoos from San Diego State, Britt Harris of Azusa Pacific, Karolina Hlavata of Pacific, Emily Knowles of Fresno Pacific, Rachel Krieger of Pacific and Arianna St. Oegger of LMU.

The 2015 GCC Championships begins with the first round on Thursday, April 23 and runs through the title game on Saturday, April 25. Links to tickets can be found on


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago