Athletics News

Quick links

Locke, Pineda Earn Top Honors

April 24, 2007

Los Angeles, CA (April 24) - Brian Locke of men's golf and Margo Pineda of softball took home the top honors of male and female Athlete of the Year at the annual Iggy Awards hosted by the Loyola Marymount Athletics Department on Tuesday night at the LAX Marriott. More than 25 awards were given to the top student-athletes at LMU.

Locke earns back-to-back male Athlete of the Year honors as he is the 49th-ranked player in the nation after claiming back-to-back West Coast Conference Championships. He is the first player in conference history to be a repeat champion. He won four tournaments this season, ranking in the top 20 in 10 of the 12 events he has played in this season.

As for Pineda, the senior leads the Pacific Coast Softball Conference in hitting and has the Lions two-games ahead in the conference standings. The winner earns the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. Pineda has been doing it all season, on pace to set the all-time school record for hitting in a season. She has done it against the best, posting a .410 batting average in 13 games against teams ranked or who went to the 2006 NCAAs.

Locke and Pineda where joined by Bobby Burling of men's soccer, Laura Mickelson of women's cross country/track and Joslyn Slovek of women's soccer. Burling earned Male Student-Athlete of the Year honors while Mickelson and Slovek shared the female Student-Athlete of the Year. The honor recognizes the three for not only their achievements in competition but also in the classroom. The award is sponsored by Student Affairs.

Replacing Locke as Freshman of the Year was Kim Feeney of women's soccer. The Newcomer of the Year award went to Kaylee Caster of women's water polo. Rounding out the athletic awards was Slovek, who was named the Most Improved Athlete of the Year.

Marni Heitbrink of women's crew earned the Student-Athlete Community Service Award for demonstrating consistency and effectiveness to the University call to change the quality of live. Earning the Pride Award for leadership and overall representation of sportsmanship went to Melani Hom of women's cross country/track.

Strength Coach Rick Stassi also handed out awards on the night. Sandy Krone of women's volleyball and Jon Ziri of men's basketball earned Strength and Conditioning Athlete of the Year. Women's rowing and women's volleyball were named the Women's Team of the Year while men's crew and men's water polo earned Male Team of the Year.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA