Athletics News

Quick links

Iggy Awards Honor Best of 2010-11

April 26, 2011

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Three-sport All-American Tara Erdmann, who earned All-American honors in cross country, indoor track and outdoor track, took home Female Athlete of the Year, while Andy Stevens of men's water polo and Rafael Baca of men's soccer shared the Male Athlete of the Year honor for the second straight year, as the LMU Athletics Department held its Sixth Annual Iggy Awards on Monday night at the Los Angeles Airport Marriott.

An always-memorable night also featured a first on Monday, as LMU's 15th President, David Burcham, was in attendance and addressed the crowd prior to dinner and the awards portion of the night. Burcham also made it around to nearly every table, greeting the student-athletes and others in attendance.

Prior to the awards being handed out, members of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, led by President Casey Flacks, spoke about the student-run organization - including its purpose, and many of the activities and highlights of the 2010-11 year. The SAAC finished its speech by presenting the men's soccer team with a banner honoring the late David Kucera, a member of the 2010-11 team who passed away on January 9.

The Athlete of the Year honors were just three of the 33 Iggy Awards handed out on Monday. The Iggy honors highlighted an evening full of recognition and laughs as the evening included the traditional senior farewell videos, including impressions of their coaches.

The 2011 Iggy Award Winners and Nominees:

Athlete of the Year Iggy
Male: Andy Stevens - Men's Water Polo; Rafael Baca - Men's Soccer
Female: Tara Erdmann - Women's Cross Country and Track

Individual Sport Athlete of the Year Iggy) (nominees for overall Athlete of the Year
Male: Rafael Baca - Men's Soccer
Nicholas Bjerke - Men's Tennis
Alex Gillingham - Baseball
Jake Sarnoff - Men's Golf
Andy Stevens - Men's Water Polo
Weston Strum - Men's Cross Country and Track
Drew Viney - Men's Basketball
Evan Yates - Men's Crew

Female: Kimberly Benedetti - Women's Water Polo
April Bisharat - Women's Tennis
Kristen Cirillo - Women's Cheer
Tara Erdmann - Women's Cross Country and Track
Mary Foster - Women's Rowing
Tawni Martino - Women's Soccer
Jasmine Rankins - Volleyball
Danielle Smith - Softball
Renahy Young - Women's Basketball
Isabella Zhang - Swimming

Casey Flacks

Student-Athlete of the Year
Male: Tibor Forai - Men's Water Polo
Female: Casey Flacks - Women's Water Polo

Male: LaRon Armstead - Men's Basketball
Tibor Forai - Men's Water Polo
Jason Wheeler - Baseball
Evan Yates - Men's Crew

Female: Kristen Cirillo - Women's Cheer
Casey Flacks - Women's Water Polo
Mary Foster - Women's Rowing
Jennifer Nayudu - Softball
Carolyn Pasque - Women's Swimming
Sheree Shea - Women's Cross Country & Track
Jessica Vargas - Women's Basketball

Anthony Ireland

Freshman of the Year Iggy
Male: Anthony Ireland - Men's Basketball
Female: Tawni Martino - Women's Soccer

Male: Christian Alvarado - Men's Soccer
Brett Buettner - Men's Crew
Bret Dahlson - Baseball
Anthony Ireland - Men's Basketball
John Mikuzis - Men's Water Polo
Weston Strum - Men's Cross Country & Track
Tyler Torano - Men's Golf
Alex Wilton - Men's Tennis

Female: PK Carey-Jones - Women's Rowing
Elizabeth Dunham - Women's Cheer
Kathryn Dutton - Softball
Alyse Hensley - Women's Volleyball
Alexandra Honny - Women's Water Polo
Miya Jin - Women's Tennis
Tawni Martino - Women's Soccer
Brittnie Munoz - Women's Cross Country & Track
Mary Kate Short - Women's Swimming

David Ponce

Newcomer of the Year Iggy
Male: David Ponce - Men's Soccer
Female: Rachel Dekar - Women's Swimming

Male: Nicholas Bjerke - Men's Tennis
Eduardo Chavez - Men's Golf
Brian Flacks - Men's Water Polo
Zac Fujimoto - Baseball
Edgar Garibay - Men's Basketball
David Ponce - Men's Soccer

Female: Katy Bekken - Women's Cheer
April Bisharat - Women's Tennis
Camille Buckley - Women's Basketball
Rachel Dekar - Women's Swimming
Brittany Jagger - Women's Soccer
Dana Waldusky - Softball

Jasmine Rankins

Most Improved Athlete of the Year
Male: Artur Jozkowicz - Men's Soccer
Female: Jasmine Rankins - Volleyball

Male: Aris Andreasian - Men's Tennis
Ayodeji Egbeyemi - Men's Basketball
Matt Florer - Baseball
Tyre Johnson - Men's Cross Country & Track
Artur Jozkowicz - Men's Soccer
David Kucera - Men's Soccer
Daniel Smith - Men's Water Polo
Quin Thames - Men's Crew

Female: Kylie Ahlo - Softball
Morgan Bonk - Women's Water Polo
Katie Carmody - Women's Swimming
Nicole Ha - Women's Soccer
Georgia Moriyama - Women's Cheer
Candice Nichols - Women's Basketball
Kayla Pietruszka - Women's Rowing
Jasmine Rankins - Women's Volleyball
Reka Rohonyi - Women's Tennis
Sheree Shea - Women's Cross Country & Track

Steve Duenas

Strength and Conditioning Awards
Male Athlete of the Year: Steve Duenas - Baseball
Female Athlete of the Year: Casey Flacks - Women's Water Polo
Men's Team of the Year: Men's Soccer
Female Team of the Year: Women's Soccer



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Adidas Wells Fargo Coke Muscle Milk LMU Hospitality LMU WCC NCAA